## Joint Transportation Review Committee

SENATOR LAWRENCE K. GROOMS
Chairman

REPRESENTATIVE JAMES H. LUCAS Vice Chairman

SENATOR HUGH K. LEATHERMAN, SR. SENATOR GLENN F. MCCONNELL SENATOR HARVEY S. PEELER SENATOR GERALD MALLOY REPRESENTATIVE ANNETTE D. YOUNG REPRESENTATIVE PHILLIP D. OWENS MR. REID BANKS MR. PATTERSON SMITH



POST OFFICE BOX 142 COLUMBIA. SOUTH CAROLINA 29202-0142 (803) 212-6400 DAVID J. OWENS

KENNETH M. MOFFITT

RICHARD P. FULMER

LILY COGDILL

\*\*\*REVISED\*\*\*

**DATE:** January 5, 2010

**RE:** DOT Commission Applicants File for Seats in Second, Fourth, and Sixth Districts

The individuals below have applied to be considered as candidates for seats on the S.C. Department of Transportation Commission. The deadline for submitting an application is now closed.

## Second Congressional District Applicants:

William L. Bethea, Jr. Bluffton John Craig Forrest Bluffton

## Fourth Congressional District Applicant:

Timothy A. Brett Simpsonville

## Sixth Congressional District Applicants:

E. Al Adams Sumter
Harrison Rearden Columbia
William K. "Billy" Padgett Walterboro
Raleigh O. Ward III Effingham

The Joint Transportation Review Committee (JTRC) is responsible for determining whether each applicant for the Commission is qualified and meets the requirements provided by law to serve. The JTRC submits a report including the names of all qualified candidates to the members of the House and Senate who reside in the respective DOT commission districts. Commission districts are the same as South Carolina's congressional districts. Only after the report is issued are members of the respective delegations free to pledge support for candidates and elect a commissioner.

The JTRC is now in the investigative phase of this review process. A public hearing concerning the qualifications of these applicants will be held in early February, after which a report of the committee's findings of qualified candidates will be released. The date the report will be released has not been determined.

Questions about this process should be directed to David Owens at the JTRC, 803-212-6402, or davidowens@scsenate.gov.