Senator Harvey S. Peeler, Jr. Chairman Senator Thomas C. Alexander Senator J. Yancey McGill Senator Robert W. Hayes, Jr.

Staff: Martha Casto Julie Price

Joint Legislative Committee to Screen Candidates for College and University Boards of Trustees



213 Gressette Building P.O. Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 Phone: (803) 212-6430 Email: SMediComm@scsenate.gov Representative William R. Whitmire Vice-Chairman Representative David J. Mack III Representative Phyllis J. Henderson

Representative Peter M. McCoy, Jr.

REPORT OF THE JOINT LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE TO SCREEN CANDIDATES FOR COLLEGE AND UNIVERTIY BOARD OF TRUSTEES MARCH 13, 2014

The Joint Legislative Committee to Screen Candidates for College and University Boards of Trustees found the following candidates qualified to stand for election to their respective Boards:

The Citadel (6 year term)

Two (2) At-large seats (expires 2020)

Clemson University (4 year terms)

Three (3) At-large seats (expires 2018)

Coastal Carolina University (4 year term)

2nd Congressional District - seat 2 (expires 2017)

4th Congressional District - seat 4 (expires 2017)

At-large - seat 8 (expires 2017)

At-large - seat 10 (expires 2017)

At-large - seat 14 (expires 2017)

Candidates

- Stanley L. Myers, West Columbia
- Fred L. Price, Columbia
- Douglas A. Snyder, Charleston withdrew 3/11/14

Candidates

- Patricia H. McAbee, Greenville
- John N. McCarter, Jr., Columbia
- Joseph D. Swann, Greenville

Candidates

- Oran P. Smith, Leesville
- D. Wyatt Henderson, Greer
- Rebecca C. Faulkner, Taylors withdrew 3/13/14
- Fred F. DuBard, Florence
- Samuel J. Swad, Gaffney
- Daniel Moore, Sr., North Myrtle Beach

College of Charleston (4 year term) 1 st Congressional District - seat 1 (expires 2018)	<u>Candidates</u>- Joseph F. Thompson, Mt. Pleasant- R. Scott Woods, Charleston
2 nd Congressional District - seat 3 (expires 2018)	John H. Busch, ChapinRandolph R. Lowell, Blythewood
3 rd Congressional District - seat 5 (expires 2018)	- Annaliza O. Moorhead, Anderson
4 th Congressional District - seat 7 (expires 2018)	- John B. Wood, Jr., Greenville
5 th Congressional District - seat 9 (expires 2018)	- Frank M. Gadsden, Clover
6 th Congressional District - seat 11 (expires 2018)	- Demetria N. Clemons, Columbia
7 th Congressional District - seat 13 (expires 2018)	- Henrietta U. Golding, Myrtle Beach
At-large - seat 15 (expires 2018)	- Daniel Ravenel, Charleston
At-large - seat 17 (expires 2018)	- Donald H. Belk, Isle of Palms
Francis Marion University (4 year term) 1 st Congressional District - seat 1 (expires 2018)	<u>Candidates</u> - Mark S. Moore, Mt. Pleasant
5 th Congressional District - seat 5 (expires 2018)	- J. Mark Bunch, Gaffney
6 th Congressional District - seat 6 (expires 2018)	- Floyd L. Keels, Lake City
At-large - seat 8 (expires 2018)	- Robert E. Lee, Marion
At-large - seat 10 (expires 2018)	- Kenneth W. Jackson, Florence
At-large - seat 12 (expires 2018)	- William E. Gunn, Columbia
At-large - seat 13 (expires 2018)	R. Tracy Freeman, North AugustaDeborah Adams, Cheraw

At-large - seat 14 (expires 2018)

- L. Franklin Elmore, Greenville

Lander University (4 year term)

At-large - seat 8 (expires 2018)

At-large - seat 9 (expires 2018)

At-large - seat 10 (expires 2018)

At-large - seat 11 (expires 2018)

At-large - seat 12 (expires 2018)

At-large - seat 13 (expires 2018)

At-large - seat 14 (expires 2018)

At-large - seat 15 (expires 2018)

Candidates

- Robert A. Barber, Jr. Charleston
- Maurice Holloway, Lexington
- Mamie W. Nicholson, Greenwood
- Claude C. Robinson, Greenville
- John V. Nicholson, Jr., Ridgeway
- Donald H. Scott, Greenwood
- DeWitt Boyd Stone, Jr., Clemson
- Ray D. Hunt, Chapin
- Marcia Thrift Hydrick, Seneca
- Rosemary K. Wicker, Gray Court
- Bobby M. Bowers, Lexington

Medical University of South Carolina (4 year term)

1st Congressional District - medical seat (expires 2018)

2nd Congressional District - medical seat (expires 2018)

3rd Congressional District - medical seat (expires 2018)

4th Congressional District - lay seat (expires 2018)

5th Congressional District - lay seat (expires 2018)

Candidates

- Donald R. Johnson II, Isle of Palms
- C. Guy Castles III, Columbia
- James Lemon, Columbia
- Stanley C. Baker, Jr., Greenwood
- Richard M. Christian, Jr., Greenwood
- Thomas L. Stephenson, Greenville
- Terri R. Barnes, Rock Hill

6 th Congressional District - medical seat (expires 2018)	- Ragin C. Monteith, Columbia
7 th Congressional District - lay seat (expires 2018)	 James A. Battle, Jr., Nichols Robin Tallon, Florence
South Carolina State University (4 year term) 3 rd Congressional District - seat 3 (expires 2018)	<u>Candidates</u> - Erika A. Abraham, Anderson
At-large - seat 8 (expires 2018)	Sidney J. Evering II, ColumbiaRobert Porcher, Jr., Wando
At-large - seat 10 (expires 2018)	- Harrison Rearden, Columbia
University of South Carolina (4 year term)	Candidates
1 st Judicial Circuit (expires 2018)	- Charles H. Williams, Orangeburg
3 rd Judicial Circuit (expires 2018)	- C. Dorn Smith III, Kingstree
5 th Judicial Circuit (expires 2018)	William C. Hubbard, ColumbiaJ. Preston Strom, Jr., Columbia
7 th Judicial Circuit (expires 2018)	- Toney J. Lister, Spartanburg
9 th Judicial Circuit (expires 2018)	- John C. von Lehe, Jr., Charleston
11 th Judicial Circuit (expires 2018)	- Thad H. Westbrook, Lexington
12 th Judicial Circuit (expires 2018)	- C. Edward Floyd, Florence
13 th Judicial Circuit (expires 2018)	- Mack I. Whittle, Jr., Greenville
Winthrop University (6 year term) 2 nd Congressional District - seat 2 (expires 2020)	Candidates - Donna Tinsley Holley, Columbia - Brian J. Prahl, Lexington - withdrew 3/3/14
6 th Congressional District - seat 6 (expires 2020)	- Ashlye Wilkerson, Columbia

At-large - seat 9 (expires 2020)

- Randy Imler, Tega Cay

- Ouida K. Page, Darlington

Wil Lou Gray Opportunity School (4 Year Torm)

(4 Year Term)

Two (2) At-large seats (expires 2018)

italic denotes incumbent

Candidates

- Robert N. Collar, Bluffton
- Marilyn Edwards-Taylor, Columbia
- Thomas Hamilton, Chester

The Candidates are released to seek the vote of members of the General Assembly at 12:00 noon on Tuesday, March 18, 2014. In addition, members of the General Assembly are not permitted to issue letters of introduction, announcements of candidacy or statements detailing a candidate's qualifications on behalf of a candidate, and are not permitted to offer a pledge to vote for a candidate until 12:00 noon on March 18, 2014.

Transcripts of the screening hearings are available under Screening Reports on the following website:

http://www.scstatehouse.gov/committeeinfo/Universities&CollegesScreeningCommittee/Univ&CollScreening.php

In accordance with S. 914, the date for the election to these seats is Wednesday, April 2, 2014 at 12:00 noon in the House Chamber.