Senator Harvey S. Peeler, Jr. Chairman Senator Thomas C. Alexander Senator John. L. Scott, Jr. Senator Daniel B. "Danny" Verdin, III

Staff: Martha Casto Julie Price

(term expires June 30, 2022)

College and University Trustee Screening Commission



213 Gressette Building P.O. Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 Phone: (803) 212-6430 Email: SMediComm@scsenate.gov Representative William R. Whitmire Vice-Chairman Representative Phyllis J. Henderson Representative John King Representative Sylleste Davis

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 21, 2017

The College and University Trustee Screening Commission has received letters of intent from the following candidates for vacancies on the South Carolina State University Board of Trustees:

South Carolina State University		
1 st Congressional District - seat 1	-	Dana David Ahern, Summerville
(term expires June 30, 2022)	-	George A. Freeman, Mount Pleasant
	-	Anthony Lloyd Jenkins, Goose Creek

David M. Rubin, Summerville
Monica R. Scott, Charleston
Shaundra Young Scott, Charleston

Daniel R. Varat, Piedmont

2 nd Congressional District - seat 2	-	Yolanda Dortch, North Augusta
(term expires June 30, 2020)	-	Hamilton R. Grant, Columbia
	-	Travis Johnson, Warrenville
	-	Annie Bradley Patrick, Blackville

3rd Congressional District - seat 3 - Garrett Callahan McDaniel, Laurens

4th Congressional District - seat 4 - Zandra L. Johnson, Greenville (term expires June 30, 2020) - G. Hubbard Smalls, Simpsonville

- Chrissundra Alberta Proctor Smith, Duncan

5th Congressional District - seat 5 - Herbert C. Crump, Jr., Rock Hill (term expires June 30, 2022) - Donnie Shell, Rock Hill

6th Congressional District - seat 6 - Wilbur B. Shuler, Orangeburg (term expires June 30, 2020) - (filed by the September 14, 2017 deadline)

7th Congressional District - seat 7 - Lavon Herschel Allen, Darlington (term expires June 30, 2022) - William H. Hughes, Conway

At-large - seat 8 - Ken Claxton, Columbia

(term expires June 30, 2020) - Doward Keith Harvin, Hemingway - Irma Smith Lowman, Columbia

- Billy Ray Skelton, Six Mile

- David Franklin White, III, Orangeburg

At-large - seat 9 - Herbert Gadson, Charleston

(term expires June 30, 2022) - Alexandria Tamila James, Irmo

Rodney C. Jenkins, Columbia
Lawrence Joseph Land, Charleston

Lawrence Joseph Land, CharlestonRodell Lawrence, Orangeburg

- Richard D. Leonard, Orangeburg

- Leo Richardson, Columbia

At-large - seat 10 - Enoch K. Beraho, Irmo

(term expires June 30, 2020) - Milton M. Irvin, Bluffton
- Valencia LaToya Johnson, C

Valencia LaToya Johnson, ColumbiaEdward Tessier Pendarvis, Charleston

- Deon T. Tedder, Charleston

At-large - seat 11 - Michael A. Addison, Orangeburg

(term expires June 30, 2022) - Rosemounda Peggy Butler, West Columbia

Ronald D. Friday, Blythewood
Doris R. Helms, Johns Island
Quincy Franklin Mack, Sumter
Ronald Paul Maggiore, Charleston

At-large - seat 12 - Dwayne Trevino Buckner, Walterboro

(term expires June 30, 2020) - Gene Gartman, Jr., Orangeburg

- Emory Jackson Hagan, III, Columbia

- Michael Jeffrey Vinzani, Mount Pleasant

These individuals will be screened by the Commission in March 2018. The General Assembly will meet in a Joint Session in April 2018 to elect college and university board of trustee members and those elected will begin serving July 1, 2018.