#### Senator Harvey S. Peeler, Jr. Chairman Senator Thomas C. Alexander Senator Robert W. Hayes, Jr. Senator John. L. Scott, Jr.

Staff: Martha Casto Julie Price

# Joint Legislative Committee to Screen Candidates for College and University Boards of Trustees



213 Gressette Building P.O. Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 Phone: (803) 212-6430 Email: SMediComm@scsenate.gov Representative William R. Whitmire Vice-Chairman Representative Phyllis J. Henderson Representative Peter M. McCoy, Jr. Representative Mia McLeod

# REPORT OF THE JOINT LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE TO SCREEN CANDIDATES FOR COLLEGE AND UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES April 19, 2016

The Joint Legislative Committee to Screen Candidates for College and University Boards of Trustees found the following candidates qualified to stand for election to their respective Boards:

# The Citadel

One (1) at-large seat (term expires June 30, 2022) -- must be a graduate of The Citadel

#### **Letters of Intent received from:**

-Lauren Fleming-Melton, Columbia -Dylan Goff, Columbia

#### **Clemson University**

Three (3) at-large seats (term expires June 30, 2020)

-Ronald D. Lee, Aiken -Louis B. Lynn, Columbia -Robert L. Peeler, Lexington

## College of Charleston/University of Charleston

1<sup>st</sup> Congressional District - Seat 2 (term expires June 30, 2020)

2<sup>nd</sup> Congressional District - Seat 4 (term expires June 30, 2020)

3<sup>rd</sup> Congressional District - Seat 6 (term expires June 30, 2020)

4<sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Seat 8 (term expires June 30, 2020)

5<sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Seat 10 (term expires June 30, 2020)

-L. Cherry Daniel, Charleston

-Brian Jeffrey Stern, Columbia

-Edward L Thomas, Jr., Anderson

-Renee Romberger, Greenville

-R. Laurin Burch, Camden -Michael Todd Warrick, Sumter

College of Charleston/University of Charleston (continued)		
6 <sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Seat 12 (term expires June 30, 2020)	-Ricci Land Welch, Manning	
7 <sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Seat 14 (term expires June 30, 2020)	-Penelope S. Rosner, Myrtle Beach	
At-large - Seat 16 (term expires June 30, 2020)	-David Mikell Hay, Charleston	
Francis Marion University  2 <sup>nd</sup> Congressional District - Seat 2 (term expires June 30, 2020)	-Benjamin I. Duncan, II, Columbia	
3 <sup>rd</sup> Congressional District - Seat 3 (term expires June 30, 2020)	-Patricia Hartung, Greenwood	
4 <sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Seat 4 (term expires June 30, 2020)	-Jody Bryson, Greenville	
7 <sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Seat 7 (term expires June 30, 2020)	-George C. McIntyre, Bennettsville	
At-large - Seat 9 (term expires June 30, 2020)	-Mary M. Finklea, Florence -Karen A. Leatherman, Florence	
At-large - Seat 11 (term expires June 30, 2020)	-H. Randall Dozier, Murrells Inlet -Tim Geddings, Florence withdrawn	
At-large - Seat 15 (term expires June 30, 2020)	-William W. Coleman, Jr., Florence	
Lander University  1 <sup>st</sup> Congressional District - Seat 1 (term expires June 30, 2020)	-Cary C. Corbitt, Hilton Head Island	
2 <sup>nd</sup> Congressional District - Seat 2 (term expires June 30, 2020)	-Angela G. Strickland, Columbia	
3 <sup>rd</sup> Congressional District - Seat 3 (term expires June 30, 2020)	-Linda Dolny, Greenwood	

Lander University (continued) 4 <sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Seat 4 (term expires June 30, 2020)	-Jack W. Lawrence, Spartanburg
5 <sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Seat 5 (term expires June 30, 2020)	-Hester Booker, Union -S. Anne Walker, Sumter
6 <sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Seat 6 (term expires June 30, 2020)	-Robert F. Sabalis, Orangeburg
7 <sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Seat 7 (term expires June 30, 2020)	-Catherine Frederick, Florence
Medical University of South Carolina  1st Congressional District - lay member (term expires June 30, 2020)	-Michael Stavrinakis, Charleston
2 <sup>nd</sup> Congressional District - lay member (term expires June 30, 2020)	-William H. Bingham, Cayce
3 <sup>rd</sup> Congressional District - lay member (term expires June 30, 2020)	-Charles W. Schulze, Greenwood
4 <sup>th</sup> Congressional District - medical member (term expires June 30, 2020)	-David Mitchell, Spartanburg -Charles Thomas, Jr., Greenville
5 <sup>th</sup> Congressional District - medical member (term expires June 30, 2020)	-Murrell Smith, Sumter
6 <sup>th</sup> Congressional District - lay member (term expires June 30, 2020)	-Barbara Johnson-Williams, Orangeburg
7 <sup>th</sup> Congressional District - medical member (term expires June 30, 2020)	-E. Conyers O'Bryan, Florence
University of South Carolina  2 <sup>nd</sup> Judicial Circuit (term expires June 30, 2020) (Aiken, Bamberg or Barnwell counties)	-Miles Loadholt, Barnwell
4 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit (term expires June 30, 2020) (Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon and Marlboro counties)	-Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Lamar

### **University of South Carolina (continued)**

6<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit

-Hugh Mobley, Lancaster (term expires June 30, 2020)

(Chester, Fairfield and Lancaster counties)

8<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit -A.C. "Bubba" Fennell, III, Greenwood

(term expires June 30, 2020)

(Abbeville, Greenwood, Laurens and Newberry counties)

10<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit -Chuck Allen, Anderson

(term expires June 30, 2020) (Anderson and Oconee counties)

14<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit -William W. Jones, Jr., Bluffton

(term expires June 30, 2020)

(Allendale, Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton and Jasper counties)

15<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit -James E. Burroughs, Murrells Inlet

(term expires June 30, 2020) (Georgetown and Horry counties)

16th Judicial Circuit -Leah B. Moody, Rock Hill

(term expires June 30, 2020) (Union and York counties)

**Winthrop University** 3<sup>rd</sup> Congressional District - Seat 3 -Janet R. Smalley, Walhalla

(term expires June 30, 2022)

4th Congressional District - Seat 4 -Shane Duncan, Simpsonville

(term expires June 30, 2022)

Wil Lou Gray Opportunity School

One (1) at-large seat -Angela Hanyak, N. Charleston (term expires June 30, 2017)

Three (3) at-large seats -Doris M. Adams, Columbia (term expires June 30, 2020) -Bryan B. England, Georgetown

-Reginald J. Thomas, Spartanburg

\* Incumbents are italicized.

The Candidates are released to seek the vote of members of the General Assembly at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, April 21, 2016. In addition, members of the General Assembly are not permitted to issue letters of introduction, announcements of candidacy or statements detailing a candidate's qualifications on behalf of a candidate, and are not permitted to offer a pledge to vote for a candidate until 10:00 a.m. on April 21, 2016.

Transcripts of the screening hearings are available Wednesday, April 20, 2016 under Screening Reports on the following website:

 $\frac{http://www.scstatehouse.gov/CommitteeInfo/Universities\&CollegesScreeningCommittee/}{Univ\&CollScreening.php}$ 

In accordance with S. 1198, the date for the election to these seats is Wednesday, April 27, 2016 at 12:00 noon in the House Chamber.