First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Micajah P. (Micah) Caskey, IV Neal A. Collins Patricia Moore (Pat) Henegan William M. (Bill) Hixon Jeffrey E. (Jeff) Johnson Marvin R. Pendarvis Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Robert Q. Williams

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

# Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Gary E. Clary
Chandra E. Dillard
Lee Hewitt
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.
Mandy Powers Norrell
Robert L. Ridgeway, III
Edward R. Tallon, Sr.
John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV
Chris Wooten

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee Wednesday, February 27, 2019
2:30 p.m.
Blatt Room 108

### Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (<a href="http://www.scstatehouse.gov">http://www.scstatehouse.gov</a>) and clicking on Committee Postings and Reports, then under House Standing Committees click on Legislative Oversight. Then, click on Video Archives for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

#### Attendance

I. The Economic Development, Transportation, and Natural Resources Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Representative Lee Hewitt on Wednesday, February 27, 2019, in Room 108 of the Blatt Building. The following other members of the Subcommittee were present for either all or a portion of the meeting: Chair William M. (Bill) Hixon, Representative Mandy Powers Norrell, and Representative Marvin R. Pendarvis.

#### Minutes

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meetings.

II. Representative Pendarvis moves to approve the minutes from the February 13, 2019, meeting. A roll call vote is held, and the motion passes. Chair Hixon is not present for the vote, but later in the meeting his name is added at his request by unanimous consent.

Rep. Pendarvis' motion to approve the minutes from the February 13, 2019, meeting:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Hewitt	✓		
Rep. Norrell	✓		
Rep. Pendarvis	✓		
Rep. Hixon	✓		

## Discussion of the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)

- I. Representative Hewitt swears in the following DMV representatives:
  - a. Brian Carlson, Deputy Director of Titles and Registrations
  - b. Nancy Larrimore, Chief of Motor Carrier Services
  - c. Sharon Land, Research and Development Manager in Motor Carrier Services
  - d. Rebecca Lyles, Administrative Coordinator in the Office of Inspector General
  - e. Vanessa Bartley, Program Coordinator in the Dealer Licensing and Audit Unit
- II. DMV Executive Director Kevin Shwedo responds to some questions from Subcommittee members about the follow-up information the agency submitted on February 22, 2019.
- III. Director Shwedo presents an overview of the agency's strategic plan.
- IV. Mr. Rick Todd, President and CEO of the South Carolina Trucking Association, discusses concerns about the way in which the state road use fee is collected from intrastate commercial vehicles. He answers questions from Subcommittee members during and after his presentation. Director Shwedo and Mr. Larry Murray, DMV Director of Vehicle Services, also answer member questions after Mr. Todd's presentation.
- V. Director Shwedo continues his overview of the agency's strategic plan. He responds to member questions during and after the presentation.
- VI. Mr. John Laganelli, DMV Chief of Staff and Director of Operations, and Ms. Courtney Saxon, DMV Deputy Director of Field Services, present information about the agency's Strategy I under Goal I. Mr. Laganelli, Ms. Saxon, and Director Shwedo respond to member questions during and after the presentation. Mr. Ralph Bailey, DMV Budget Manager, also responds to a member question.
- VII. Mr. Larry Murray, DMV Director of Vehicle Services, presents information about the agency's Strategy 2 under Goal 1.
- VIII. Ms. Kristin Wicker, Deputy Director of Finance, presents information about the agency's Strategy 3 under Goal 1. Ms. Wicker responds to member questions.

- IX. Ms. Shirley Rivers, DMV Director of Driver Services, and Mr. Brian Carlson, DMV Deputy Director of Titles and Registrations, present information about the agency's Strategy 4 under Goal 1. Ms. Rivers and Director Shwedo respond to member questions during and after the presentation.
- X. Director Shwedo presents the agency's recommendations for law changes related to its first goal. He responds to member questions.
- XI. The meeting is adjourned.