First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Nathan Ballentine Gary E. Clary Kirkman Finlay III Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Walton J. McLeod Joshua Putnam Samuel Rivers Jr. Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

William K. (Bill) Bowers Raye Felder Phyllis J. Henderson Mia S. McLeod Ralph W. Norman Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith, Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211

Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Economic Development, Transportation, Natural Resources and Regulatory Subcommittee Meeting
February 17, 2015
12:00 p.m.
Room 511 - Blatt Building

## **ARCHIVED VIDEO UNAVAILABLE**

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, S.C. ETV was allowed access for streaming the Subcommittee meeting. However, there was a technological problem with audio for this Subcommittee meeting, and, therefore, video for this meeting has not been archived.

## **MINUTES**

- I. House Rule 4.5 requires the standing committees of the House to prepare and make available for public inspection, in compliance with Section 30-4-90, the minutes of full committee meetings. House Rule 4.5 further provides that such minutes need not be verbatim accounts of such meetings. It is the practice of the House Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes, which are not verbatim accounts of such meetings, for its Subcommittee meetings.
- II. The Economic Development, Transportation, Natural Resource and Regulatory Subcommittee (Subcommittee) meeting was called to order by Subcommittee Chair Phyllis J. Henderson on Tuesday, February 17, 2015, in Room 511 of the Blatt Building, Columbia, South Carolina. The following Subcommittee Members were present: Subcommittee Chair Henderson, Representative Robert L. Ridgeway III, and Representative Samuel Rivers. In addition, Representative Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. was present.
- III. This was a preliminary meeting with the Department of Transportation held pursuant to Legislative Oversight Committee's Standard Practice 8.3 to discuss preliminary matters relating to the legislative oversight and investigation process with the agency. Subcommittee Chair Henderson provided the agency information on the following: the purpose of legislative oversight as set forth in statute; the Legislative Oversight Committee's goals for the legislative oversight process; the process the

- Legislative Oversight Committee and this Subcommittee intends to follow in studying the agency; the Legislative Oversight Committee's expectations of an agency undergoing the study.
- IV. The Subcommittee received a brief overview of the agency from Secretary of Transportation Janet Oakley. Also in attendance at the meeting from the Department of Transportation were the following: Ms. Wendy Nicholas, Chief of Staff; Deputy Secretary of Planning Mark Lester; Deputy Secretary of Finance Jim Warren; Deputy Secretary of Engineering Christy Hall. Secretary Oakley and others answered questions from Members. Additionally, Secretary Oakley was offered an opportunity to ask questions about the legislative oversight process to the Subcommittee. Subcommittee Chair Henderson answered Secretary Oakley's questions.
- V. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 1:09 p.m.