April 27, 2024, 08:34:15 pm

Session 119 - (2011-2012)

H 4625 General Bill, By Lucas, Parker, Simrill, Erickson, Pope, Taylor, Frye, Spires, Crawford, Harrison, Young, Quinn, Bingham, Corbin, G.M. Smith, Huggins, Brannon, V.S. Moss, Brady, Pinson, Stringer, Ryan, Atwater, J.M. Neal, Hixon, Allison, G.R. Smith, Anthony, Bikas, Bowen, Chumley, Cole, Delleney, Edge, Forrester, Hamilton, Henderson, Herbkersman, Hiott, Loftis, Long, Lowe, D.C. Moss, Munnerlyn, Neilson, Norman, Owens, Patrick, Putnam, Skelton, J.R. Smith, Tallon, Toole, Tribble, Williams, Willis and Ballentine *Similar (S 1022, H 4444)*

Summary: Departments of state government and their governing bodies

A BILL TO AMEND SECTION 1-30-10, AS AMENDED, CODE OF LAWS OF SOUTH CAROLINA, 1976, RELATING TO THE DEPARTMENTS OF STATE GOVERNMENT AND THEIR GOVERNING BODIES, SO AS TO DELETE THE PROVISION THAT PROVIDES THAT PART OF THE GOVERNING BODY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION IS A SEVEN-MEMBER COMMISSION; TO AMEND SECTION 1-30-105, AS AMENDED, RELATING TO THE ESTABLISHMENT OF THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, SO AS TO PROVIDE THAT THE GOVERNING AUTHORITY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION IS THE SECRETARY OF TRANSPORTATION; TO AMEND SECTION 1-3-240, AS AMENDED, RELATING TO THE REMOVAL OF CERTAIN OFFICERS BY THE GOVERNOR, SO AS TO DELETE THE PROVISION THAT PROVIDES THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION COMMISSIONERS MAY BE REMOVED FROM OFFICE BY THE GOVERNOR UNDER CERTAIN CIRCUMSTANCES; TO AMEND SECTION 11-43-140, RELATING TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE TRANSPORTATION INFRASTRUCTURE BANK, SO AS TO REMOVE THE CHAIRMAN OF THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION AS A DIRECTOR, AND TO PROVIDE THAT THE SECRETARY OF TRANSPORTATION IS A MEMBER OF THE BOARD; TO AMEND SECTIONS 57-1-10, 57-1-40, 57-1-410, 57-1-430, 57-1-490, AND 57-3-20, ALL AS AMENDED, RELATING TO THE ESTABLISHMENT OF THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, AND ITS DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES, SO AS TO ELIMINATE THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION AND ITS RESPONSIBILITIES, TO ALLOW THE GOVERNOR TO APPOINT THE SECRETARY OF TRANSPORTATION AND REQUIRE THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION SUBMIT TO THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY AN ITEMIZED PROJECT LIST TO BE FUNDED FOR THE FISCAL YEAR IN WHICH THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY WOULD ENACT ITS ANNUAL GENERAL APPROPRIATIONS ACT; TO AMEND SECTION 57-3-50, RELATING TO THE ESTABLISHMENT OF HIGHWAY DISTRICTS, SO AS TO SUBSTITUTE THE TERM "DEPARTMENT" FOR THE TERM "COMMISSION": TO AMEND SECTION 57-1-500, RELATING TO A DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION ETHICS WORKSHOP, SO AS TO DELETE THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION COMMISSIONERS AS PARTICIPANTS IN THIS WORKSHOP; TO REPEAL SECTION 11-43-140 RELATING TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE TRANSPORTATION INFRASTRUCTURE BANK; AND TO REPEAL ARTICLE 3, CHAPTER 1, TITLE SECTION 57, 57-1-460, SECTION 57-1-470, ARTICLE 7, CHAPTER 1, TITLE 56, AND SECTIONS 6, 7, AND 8 OF ACT 114 OF 2007 ALL RELATING TO THE CREATION AND FUNCTIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION AND ITS COMMISSION.

TO THE CREATION AND TONCTIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION AND ITS COMMISSION.			
01/18/12	House	Introduced and read first time (House Journal-page 6)	
01/18/12	House	Referred to Committee on Judiciary (House Journal-page 6)	
01/19/12	House	Member(s) request name removed as sponsor: Gambrell	
01/25/12	House	Member(s) request name removed as sponsor: Agnew	
02/08/12	House	Member(s) request name removed as sponsor: Thayer	
02/09/12	House	Committee report: Favorable with amendment Judiciary (House Journal-page 5)	
02/10/12		Scrivener's error corrected	
02/21/12	House	Member(s) request name added as sponsor: Ballentine	
02/22/12	House	Requests for debate-Rep(s). Ott, King, McLeod, McEachern, J. H. Neal, Sabb, Johnson, Parks,	
		Allison, Tallon, Brantley, McCoy, Atwater, Toole, Brannon, Gilliard, Mack, Whipper, Anderson,	
		Allen and Dillard (House Journal-page 114)	
02/22/12	House	Debate adjourned until Thu., 02-23-12 (House Journal-page 168)	
03/01/12	House	Debate adjourned until Tues., 03-06-12 (House Journal-page 46)	
03/01/12	House	Member(s) request name removed as sponsor: Murphy, Hardwick, Stavrinakis, McCoy, Hearn,	
		Crosby	
03/06/12	House	Member(s) request name removed as sponsor: Horne	
03/07/12	House	Recommitted to Committee on Judiciary (House Journal-page 28)	