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Document No. 4862
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, LICENSING AND REGULATION
CHAPTER 10
Statutory Authority: 1976 Code Sections 40‑1‑50, 40‑1‑70, and 40‑75‑60

10‑33. Board of Examiners for Licensure of Professional Counselors and Marital and Family Therapists.

Synopsis:

	The South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation, on behalf of the Board of Examiners for the Licensure of Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapists, Addiction Counselors, and Psycho‑Educational Specialists proposes to amend its regulations to add a fee for the licensure of addiction counselors as required by South Carolina Code Section 40‑75‑220 and the passage of Act 249 of 2018 and to update existing fees. A scrivener’s error is corrected and a term is modified as required by Act 249 of 2018. 

	A Notice of Drafting was published in the State Register on August 24, 2018.

Instructions:

	Replace regulation as shown below. All other items and sections remain unchanged.

Text:

10‑33. Board of Examiners for the Licensure of Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapists, Addiction Counselors, and Psycho‑Educational Specialists.

The Board shall charge the following fees:

A.		Application Fee – Application and fee go to Center for Credentialing Education (CCE) to be reviewed and approved.
B.		Initial License Fee:
		1.		Associate:																				$150
		2.		Professional Counselors:														$150
		3.		Marriage and Family Therapists:											$150
		4.		Psycho‑Educational Specialists:											$150
		5.		Addiction Counselors:															$150
		6.		Professional Counselor Supervisors:										$100
		7.		Marriage and Family Therapy Supervisors:							$100
C.		Biennial license renewal:
		1.		Professional Counselors:														$150
		2.		Marriage and Family Therapists:											$150
		3.		Psycho‑Educational Specialists:											$150
		4.		Professional Counselor Supervisors:										$100
		5.		Marriage and Family Therapy Supervisors:							$100
D.		Late Renewal Penalty (1 through 3 months):								$50
E.		Reinstatement Fee:																			$300 + renewal fee
F.		Examination Fee:	
		1.		Professional Counselors: paid to National Board for Certified
				Counselors (NBCC)
		2.		Marriage and Family Therapists: paid to Professional Examination
				Service (PES)
G.		License Verification:																		$5
H.		License verification to another state:												$5
I.		Name change and new license card:												$10
J.		Copy of file																						$10
K.		Duplicate license:	
		1.		Wall certificate:																		$25
		2.		License card:																			$10
L.		Returned check charge:																	$30 (or as otherwise
																												established by law as
																												administrative costs for
																												returned checks)
Fiscal Impact Statement:

	There will be no cost incurred by the State or any of its political subdivisions for these regulations.

Statement of Rationale:

	In 2018, the General Assembly passed Act 249 requiring the state, by and through the Board of Examiners for the Licensure of Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapists, Addiction Counselors, and Psycho‑Educational Specialists, to regulate Addiction Counselors. South Carolina Code Section 40‑1‑50(B) requires the department (LLR) to establish initial fees for revenue‑funded boards, and the Counselors’ practice act, in South Carolina Code Section 40‑75‑200 requires payment of an appropriate fee for licensure. Two scrivener’s errors were corrected, and a term was changed as required by Act 249 of 2018. The Board is also updating existing fees.
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