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MAJOR ISSUES FROM

THE 2002 LEGISLATIVE YEAR

This report provides highlights of the 2002 legislative year, summarizing major proposals that passed the General Assembly and some that did not pass.  The measures included in this report are a sampling and are not intended to be comprehensive.

Legislation in this document is summarized in a format that is intended to be more accessible than a simple reading of the bills, joint resolutions, and acts.  This report is a guide to, not a substitute for, the full text of the legislation summarized.  Please note that some issues which are included in this document are addressed in more than one bill.    
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OVERVIEW OF THE 2002

 LEGISLATIVE YEAR

2002 presented many challenges for the South Carolina General Assembly as legislators confronted security concerns arising from the devastating events of September 11, 2001, and worked to develop a State spending plan in the midst of an economic slowdown. 

In response to the numerous security concerns that emerged in the final months of 2001, the General Assembly passed the South Carolina Homeland Security Act, a comprehensive bill that enhances the State’s ability to gather intelligence and respond to emergencies.  Notably, the legislation equips the State Law Enforcement Division with wiretapping authority for the investigation of terrorist activities and certain other serious crimes.  Safeguards are provided to prevent misuse of this authority to intercept communications.  The Governor’s authority to declare a state of emergency is expanded to include a public health emergency.  The legislation also establishes the Emergency Health Powers Act which equips the Department of Health and Human Services with broad authority to respond to a public health emergency through vaccination and quarantine.

Despite the severe shortage of available revenue, the 2002-2003 State Budget protects education and protects health care for the poor, the elderly, and the disabled.  Public education received a $61 million increase and Medicaid is funded at a level where programs will not be reduced.  Agency reductions were decided on an individual basis and were generally kept to under ten percent.

The General Assembly approved a plan for distribution of $259 million of lottery revenue.  The majority of these funds are directed to scholarships and tuition assistance; higher education technology; school buses; Education Accountability Act programs; K-5 reading, math, science and social studies programs; and ETV digitalization.  Legislators also created the South Carolina Research Centers of Economic Excellence and the Centers of Excellence Matching Endowment, using lottery funds to provide incentives for the State’s senior research universities to raise private capital to fund endowments for professorships in research areas targeted to create well-paying jobs for South Carolinians.  

The General Assembly addressed the issue of proposed Charleston port expansion by approving legislation requiring the State Ports Authority to begin environmental impact studies and other required actions in regard to the permitting process to locate new terminal facilities on the west bank of the Cooper River.

Conservation of the State’s natural and historical resources emerged as a major concern in 2002.  The General Assembly created the South Carolina Conservation Bank as an ongoing funding source for acquiring interests from willing sellers in real property that is worthy of conservation for environmental, aesthetic, or historical reasons.  Lawmakers also passed the South Carolina Historic Rehabilitation Incentives Act which provides State income tax credits for certain expenditures associated with the rehabilitation of certified historic structures located in this State.    

Legislators supported initiatives designed to shield some of the most vulnerable South Carolinians from the threat of abuse.  The General Assembly passed Stephanie’s Law, named in memory of four-year-old Stephanie Carter who died in October of 2000 from injuries sustained through repeated acts of physical abuse.  The legislation establishes more rigorous reporting and record keeping guidelines for child abuse and neglect cases in South Carolina.  Lawmakers also passed a bill requiring criminal background checks for direct caregivers at nursing homes, home health agencies, adult daycare facilities, and community residential facilities.    

Legislation was approved which revises the organization, operation, and governance of charter schools in South Carolina. The bill requires a racial quota of 20% of the school district or of the targeted population, but allows for a variance if the charter committee is not operating in a discriminatory manner.  Applications for charter schools will be reviewed by a Charter School Advisory Committee, which will consider the applicant’s compliance with established standards reflected in the bill.

Teen drivers are now subject to legislation which revises beginner’s permits, provisional licenses, special restricted driver’s licenses, and driver’s training.  This bill also restricts the transportation of children in the open bed or open cargo area of a pickup truck or trailer.

Lawmakers created the Motorist Insurance Database Program for the purpose of establishing a database that could be used to help verify whether drivers are complying with the State’s automobile insurance requirements.

Legislators approved a bill that enhances enforcement of South Carolina’s Right to Work Laws which prohibit practices that have the effect of making employment contingent upon affiliation with a labor union or similar organization.  The legislation affords the Director of the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation greater authority to investigate alleged Right to Work violations and broadens the scope of those subject to Right to Work laws.

Additionally, the General Assembly established a task force to study and report on whether a single statewide public school term start date should be established to replace the current system under which each school district sets its own start date for the school term.

Many of the legislative initiatives that were not enacted in the current General Assembly will most likely be reintroduced and attract the attention of legislators in the upcoming 115th General Assembly convening in January of 2003.

A conference committee was appointed to address the differences of the Senate and House of Representatives on the campaign finance reform bill, but compromise legislation was not passed before the end of the session.  Legislation under consideration this year provided for a broad range of revisions including enhanced penalties for campaign finance violations, accountability measures for ballot measure committees, and disclosure requirements for what is commonly called “soft money” including funds received for operating expenses, party-building initiatives, and similar activities.   

During the final days of the session, the Senate approved legislation providing comprehensive revisions to the Public Service Commission, the body elected by the General Assembly to regulate the State’s public utilities.  The legislation passed by the Senate establishes new qualifications for Public Service Commission candidates, places certain restrictions on the activities of Commissioners and other PSC officials, and creates an Office of Public Staff, as a separate state agency.  In the House of Representatives, the issue of revising the Public Service Commission has been referred to the Labor, Commerce and Industry Committee for study. 

The session ended without the adoption of compromise legislation for a bill that would expand Truth in Sentencing provisions.  Under such provisions, offenders are required to serve at least 85% of their sentences and 100% of sentences if no work, education, or good time credits are earned.  For offenses included under Truth in Sentencing provisions, parole would be abolished for all offenders who commit crimes after the effective date of the legislation.  

The Senate and House passed different versions of a bill to prohibit human cloning, but compromise was not reached on the scope of the prohibition before session’s end.  Both House and Senate versions of the legislation prohibited cloning that involves the growth or creation of a human being from a single cell or cells of a genetically identical human being through asexual reproduction.  The House version established a wider prohibition that also included products of human cloning such as stem cells and all other constituent parts of an embryo created through human cloning.

The House approved the Diabetes Mellitus School Care Act, which among other things, required school districts to provide training to at least two school employees who must be designated as a diabetes care provider at each public school that does not employ a full-time nurse.  The bill was sent to the Senate, but was not taken up before the session ended.
This year the House approved the Domestic Violence Prevention Act and sent the bill to the Senate where it was reported out of the Judiciary Committee, favorable with amendment.  No further action was taken on the bill during the session, but the issue is likely to resurface in the coming General Assembly.  The legislation enhances various penalties for domestic violence offenses and emphasizes offender participation in programs designed to treat batterers.  

Two measures proposing to shorten the legislative session were approved by the House in the beginning of 2001, but did not receive attention this year.  Shortening the General Assembly’s session will most likely reemerge as a legislative initiative in the coming year. 

MAJOR LEGISLATION THAT PASSED IN 2002

APPROPRIATIONS

THE 2002-03 GENERAL APPROPRIATIONS BILL (H.4878) 

Facing another very difficult budget year, the General Assembly adopted a 2002-2003 spending plan under which agency reductions were decided on an individual agency basis and were in general kept to under ten percent.  The General Assembly agreed on sources of additional revenue which prevented imposing deeper cuts on agencies’ budgets. These sources of revenue include interest from numerous restricted funds; the Barnwell atomic waste fund; insurance reserve fund premium redirection; unrestricted taxable proceeds of the Tobacco Settlement Healthcare Trust Fund; and funds anticipated from a tax amnesty program and greater enforcement from additional revenue agents.  The annualization problem has now been reduced from $584 million (where it was when the House began working on the budget for Fiscal Year 2001-02) to $269 million for the 2003-04 Fiscal Year.  

Public education received a $61 million increase.  There was no change in the minimum salary schedule for teachers. A temporary proviso requires the State Board of Education to establish a task force to study a suggested uniform beginning date for the annual school term. The task force is to report to the State Board by January 1, 2003. (Also see “School Start Date” under the Budget Proviso Codification Act, H.4879, summarized in this document.)  New provisos exempt LIFE Scholarships, Need-based grants, Palmetto Fellows Scholarships, and Tuition Grants from any mid-year budget reductions for 2002-03. 

Medicaid is funded at a level where Medicaid programs will not be reduced.  $23.2 million is appropriated for SilverCard Plus, the senior prescription drug program.   A temporary proviso directs the Commission for the Blind and the Vocational Rehabilitation Department to identify opportunities to better coordinate and refer eligible clients for services available from either agency.  The two agencies are to report to the Chairs of the House Ways and Means Committee and the Senate Finance Committee by December 2002 on their progress towards improving client access to all services for which they are eligible.  State employees received no pay increase.  

STATUS: H.4878 (Act #289) was approved by the General Assembly and sent to the Governor. On May 29, the Governor returned his vetoes on the bill. Items which the Governor vetoed include, but were not limited to:

$2,556,675 funding for House Operating Expenses (vetoed because it included $150,000 in funding for the Joint Committee on Medicaid--the proviso creating this committee was also vetoed by the Governor); this veto was overridden by the General Assembly;
$1,920,848 funding for Senate Operating Expenses (vetoed because it included $150,000 in funding for the Joint Committee on Medicaid); this veto was overridden by the General Assembly; 
Proviso authorizing the legislature to carry-forward unexpended funds; this veto was overridden by the General Assembly;

Proviso exempting the General Assembly from any provision which requires the approval of the Budget and Control Board or any other executive branch agency for the expenditure, management, or transfer of any authorized appropriations; this veto was overridden by the General Assembly;

Proviso directing the Budget and Control Board to transfer specified funds from its reserve accounts to House and Senate reserve accounts to cover unanticipated costs associated with reapportionment and other civil litigation; this veto was overridden by the General Assembly.
APPROPRIATION OF EDUCATION LOTTERY REVENUE

See summary of H.4879, the Budget Proviso Codification Act.

BUDGET PROVISO

 CODIFICATION ACT
The General Assembly approved H.4879, the Budget Proviso Codification Act, codifying new provisions as well as numerous provisions that have been a part of previous General Appropriation Bills.  

Highlights of this comprehensive bill are as follows:

THE LOTTERY REVENUE DISTRIBUTION PLAN:


Total lottery revenue for Fiscal Years 2001-2002 and 2002-2003 is $179 million recurring funds and $80 million non-recurring funds;


Tuition assistance at technical schools and two year institutions is funded at $34 million;


LIFE Scholarships are funded with an additional $40 million;


HOPE Scholarships are funded at $5.8 million;


Need-Based Scholarships are funded at $3 million (non-recurring funds);


Palmetto Fellows Scholarships are funded at $5 million;


National Guard Scholarships are funded at $1.5 million;


Tuition Grants are funded at $3 million (non-recurring funds);


Teacher Grants are funded at $2 million (non-recurring funds);


Endowed Chairs at Research Universities are funded at $30 million;


Technology improvements at public four-year and two-year colleges and state tech schools are funded at $21.7 million (includes $10.6 million non-recurring funds);


Repair and maintenance at historically Black colleges funded at $3 million;


Research and technology at S.C. State University funded at $3 million (includes $1 million non-recurring funds);


K-12 Education Accountability Act programs funded at $23.9 million;


School buses are funded at $29 million (includes $15 million non-recurring funds);


K-5 Reading, Math, Science, and Social Studies programs are funded at $32.9 million;


ETV digitalization is funded at $18.5 million (non-recurring funds);


State Aid to County Libraries is funded at $1.5 million;


Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services is funded at $1 million;

FIRST STEPS TO SCHOOL READINESS PROGRAM


For Fiscal Year 2002-2003 only, from non-recurring revenue identified in the General Appropriations Act (H.4878), $7 million is appropriated to the First Steps for School Readiness Program.

SOUTH CAROLINA RESEARCH CENTERS OF ECONOMIC EXCELLENCE


Creates a nine member Research Centers of Excellence Review Board and creates the Centers of Excellence Matching Endowment; staff support will be provided by the Commission on Higher Education;


The Endowment will be funded annually by appropriations from the South Carolina Education Lottery Account (in an aggregate amount not to exceed $200 million by 2010) and managed by the State Treasurer, subject to awards from the Endowment;


South Carolina’s senior research universities may apply for awards from the Endowment as provided in the bill; 


The Board is responsible for recommending annually to the Budget and Control Board for approval a schedule by which applications for funding are received and awarded on a competitive basis; for awarding of matching funds as provided in the bill; and for oversight and operation of the Endowment.

UNIFORM SCHOOL START DATE

(See also under H.4878, this section of this document)

Provides a General Assembly declaration that it is in the best interests of South Carolina students for a uniform beginning date for the annual school term to be developed and adopted by the State Board of Education (the Board) to be implemented in all State public schools;


Directs the Board to establish a task force to make recommendations including the desirability of and if agreed upon a suggested uniform beginning date for the annual school term. The task force is directed to report its findings to the Board by October 15, 2002.

HOPE SCHOLARSHIPS


These scholarships are authorized in an amount of up to $2500, plus a $150 book allowance, to cover the cost of attendance during the first year of attendance only, to an eligible student attending a four-year institution who does not also qualify for a LIFE Scholarship or a Palmetto Fellows Scholarship;

MULTI-STATE LOTTERY GAMES


Authorizes the South Carolina Lottery Commission to enter into a multi-state agreement for the sale of instant game tickets, online game tickets, and related multi-state lottery products including game shows and promotional products.

STATUS:  H.4879 was approved by the House and the Senate and ratified on May 28 (R.388). On June 3, the Governor issued a veto message. Items which were vetoed included a section of the bill which granted the General Assembly an exemption from any provision which requires the approval of the State Budget and Control Board or any other executive branch agency for the expenditure, management, or transfer of any legislative branch appropriations.  This veto was overridden by the General Assembly.

BUSINESS

FEE-IN-LIEU-OF-TAX SIMPLIFICATION ACT REVISIONS (S.852)
S.852 is a comprehensive bill, which among other things amends the Fee-in-Lieu-of-Tax Simplification Act (the Act).  The bill was approved by the General Assembly on the last day of the legislative session.  Revisions to the Act include, but are not limited to, increasing from two years to five years the maximum extension to fee-in-lieu-of-property tax agreements that a county may grant for completion of a project.  The bill also includes a provision allowing the Department of Revenue, for good cause and under certain circumstances, to allow up to sixty days additional time for filing of returns required under the Act.

STATUS:  S.852 was approved by the General Assembly and has been ratified (R.445).
JOINT COMMITTEE ON TAXATION (S.852)

See summary under “Taxation” category of this document

PORT EXPANSION (S.926)

This joint resolution, approved by both the House and the Senate, requires the State Ports Authority to begin environmental impact studies and other required actions in regard to the permitting process to locate new terminal facilities on the west bank of the Cooper River at locations it determines appropriate and with a capacity in conformance with available land at the proposed location or locations. The resolution provides that if the locations identified are on real property not owned by the State Ports Authority (the Authority), the Authority is authorized to begin the process of acquiring such property. The resolution requires that upon completion of the permitting process, the Authority shall report to the General Assembly concerning the new terminal facilities, including a request for any state funding necessary to complete the projects and the form such funding is requested to take. The resolution requires that the Authority provide the General Assembly with a summary of criteria developed for use in delineating the needs, requirements, and specifications of port expansion. The resolution provides that the permit application may not exclude or prejudice unreasonably the acceptance of any site.  The resolution directs appropriate state agencies to explore opportunities for federal funding of the infrastructure enhancements for port expansion on the western side of the Cooper River. The resolution also provides that the State Budget and Control Board shall take appropriate steps to provide indemnification from personal liability to the Authority board members related to their service in regard to funding provided to the South Carolina Transportation Infrastructure Bank for the Cooper River Bridge. 

STATUS:  S.926 was approved by both the House and the Senate and has been signed by the Governor (Act 256).

RESEARCH CENTERS OF ECONOMIC EXCELLENCE (H.4879)

(See H.4879, the Budget Proviso Codification Act, included in this document)

RIGHT TO WORK LAWS (H.3142)

The General Assembly passed H.3142 and ratified the bill.  This legislation revises enforcement of South Carolina’s Right to Work laws which prohibit practices that have the effect of making employment contingent upon whether or not an employee is affiliated with a labor union or organization.  The legislation broadens the authority of the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (LLR) to investigate alleged violations of the Right to Work laws.  The Director of the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation is authorized to hold hearings in order to investigate the merits of a claim of violations.  After a complaint has been filed with the Department, the Director or his designee is authorized to enter a workplace in order to evaluate compliance.  Any effort to obstruct the Director’s duty to investigate is a violation of Right to Work laws.  After a complaint has been filed, if the Director or his designee is denied admission, a warrant may be obtained.  

The Director is authorized to assess a violator of Right to Work provisions a civil penalty of not more than one hundred dollars for each offense.  The Director shall promulgate regulations establishing procedures for administrative review of civil penalties assessed.  The Department’s final action may be appealed to the Administrative Law Judge Division.  

The legislation broadens the scope of persons prohibited from participating in unlawful labor agreements that violate an employee’s right to work by allowing for penalties and/or causes of action against any person for violations.  Current law allows for such actions to be taken against employers, only.  

The legislation revises a provision under which an employer may, upon the written assignment of the employee, deduct membership dues in a labor organization from the employee’s wages so as to provide that, after one year, an employee has the absolute right to revoke written assignment for deduction of such dues. 

STATUS: The General Assembly passed H.3142 and ratified the bill on June 4.

STATE GENERAL OBLIGATION ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT BOND ACT (S.1200)

This bill increases from five percent to five and one-half percent of the general revenues of the State for the fiscal year next preceding (with specified exclusions), the limitation on general obligation debt imposed by the State Constitution.  The additional debt service capacity available at any time as a consequence of the increase is available only for the repayment of general obligation bonds issued to provide infrastructure for economic development within the State.

STATUS:  S.1200 was approved by the House and Senate and has been signed by the Governor (Act 254).

CONSERVATION/HISTORIC PRESERVATION

CONSERVATION BANK ACT (S.297)

The General Assembly passed S.297, the South Carolina Conservation Bank Act, and the Governor signed the bill into law on April 10.  The legislation establishes the South Carolina Conservation Bank as an ongoing funding source governed by a twelve-member board and created to acquire interests in real property from willing sellers in order to protect wildlife habitats, forestlands, farmlands, open space, parks, historical sites, and healthy streams, rivers, bays, and estuaries.  Areas are to be conserved for recreational purposes, scientific study, aesthetic appreciation, the protection of critical water resources, the maintenance of the State’s position as an attractive location for visitors and new industry, and the preservation of the State’s outstanding natural and historical sites for the benefit of future generations.  The Conservation Bank is established to encourage cooperation and innovative partnerships among landowners, state agencies, local governments, and nonprofit organizations to ensure the orderly development of the State.

The bill provides for the Board’s appointed and ex officio membership, terms of service, and meetings.  The Governor is authorized to appoint three board members from the state at large.  Three members are appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, one each from the first, second, and fifth congressional districts.  Three members are appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, one each from the third, fourth, and sixth congressional districts.  The ex officio members are the board chairs of the Department of Natural Resources and the South Carolina Forestry Commission, and the director of the South Carolina Department of Parks, Recreation, and Tourism.  Board members serve four-year terms under a staggered schedule.  Members shall serve without compensation, but may receive the mileage, subsistence, and per diem allowed by law for members of state boards, committees, and commissions.  The board shall elect a chairman and other officers as necessary from its membership. The bill establishes conditions for when board members must recuse themselves from board decisions.  In order to operate the Bank, the bill requires the Board to hire an executive director and authorizes the Board to hire staff, to contract for certain services, and to enter into cooperative agreements with other state agencies.

The bill creates the South Carolina Conservation Bank Trust Fund, separate from all other funds, to receive and hold revenues of the Bank.  The trust fund is authorized to receive funding from any sources that the General Assembly may provide by law; and from governmental grants and private gifts and bequests.  Effective July 1, 2004, twenty‑five cents of the one dollar thirty cent state deed-recording fee must be credited to the South Carolina Conservation Bank Trust Fund.  The Department of Public Safety is authorized to issue “Conserve South Carolina” special motor vehicle license plates which may have an emblem, a seal, logo, or other symbol of the South Carolina Conservation Bank.  The portion of the biennial fee remaining after production costs are met is to be deposited in the Trust Fund.  However, in a fiscal year when the General Assembly in the annual general appropriations act provides less appropriations than what was provided for the previous year to at least one-half of the state agencies or departments or in any year when the Budget and Control Board orders across the board cuts to state agencies and departments, no further transfer of deed recording fees or other appropriated funds, state or local, may be credited to the trust fund for the fiscal year or balance of the fiscal year.  Under such circumstances, existing balances in the trust fund may be used as provided.

The Bank is established and authorized to: (1) award grants to eligible trust fund recipients for the purchase of interests in land, so long as the grants advance the purposes of the Bank and meet the specified criteria; (2) make loans to eligible trust fund recipients for the purchase of interests in land, at no interest or at an interest rate determined by the board, and under terms determined by the board, so long as the loans advance the purposes of the Bank and meet the specified criteria; (3) apply for and receive additional funding for the trust fund from federal, private, and other sources, to be used as provided; (4) receive charitable contributions and donations to the trust fund, to be used as provided; and (5) receive contributions to the trust fund in satisfaction of any public or private obligation for environmental mitigation or habitat conservation, whether such obligation arises out of law, equity, contract, regulation, administrative proceeding, or judicial proceeding.  Such contributions must be used as provided; (6) exercise its discretion in determining what portion of trust funds shall be expended, awarded, or loaned in any particular year, and what portion of trust funds shall remain in the trust fund from one fiscal year to the next.   Funds within the trust fund shall be invested or deposited into interest‑bearing instruments or accounts, with the interest accruing and credited to the fund.
An eligible trust fund recipient may apply for a grant or loan from the trust fund to acquire a specific interest in land identified in its application.  An application must not be submitted to the board without the written consent of the owner of the interest in land identified in the application.  Contiguous landowners and other interested parties may submit in writing to the board their views in support of or in opposition to the application.  The board must hold a public hearing on the application at which the eligible trust fund recipient, contiguous landowners, and other interested parties shall be heard.  Interested parties include representatives of the municipality, county, and public or private utilities in the area wherein the property is located.  The board shall conduct a public hearing on an application before awarding a grant or loan pursuant to the application.

Before applying for trust funds for the purchase of an interest in land, the eligible trust fund recipient receiving the funds must notify the owner of the land that is the subject of the trust fund grant or loan of the following in writing: (1) that interests in land purchased with trust funds result in a permanent conveyance of such interests in land from the landowner to the eligible trust fund recipient or its assigns; and (2) that it may be in the landowner’s interest to retain independent legal counsel, appraisals, and other professional advice.
The board shall evaluate each proposal according to conservation criteria listed in the bill, financial criteria listed in the bill, and the extent to which the proposal provides public access for hunting, fishing, outdoor recreational activities and other forms of public access.  The board shall award grants or loans on the basis of how well proposals meet these three criteria.
The bill specifies the information that must be supplied by applicant for a grant or loan.  Under the bill, an applicant is required to demonstrate that it is able to complete the project, indicate the total number of acres and describe the lands it has preserved in the State.

The board only may authorize grants or loans to purchase interests in lands at fair market value.  In no cases may funds from the trust fund be used to acquire interests in lands at a price that exceeds the fair market value of the interest being acquired.  However, trust funds may be used to acquire interests in land at below fair market value, but only if the owner of the interest consents and in writing to sell at below fair market value.
The Board is required, upon awarding a grant or loan, to set forth specified findings including but not limited to findings regarding the application/applicant which are relevant to the award and how the application/applicant satisfies the provisions and intentions of the bill.

The bill provides that land interest acquired by an eligible trust fund recipient may not be extinguished, sold, transferred, assigned, alienated, or converted to a purpose other than that set forth in the grant or loan award without following the procedures set forth in the legislation.  

Interests in land acquired with trust funds must be managed and maintained in order to perpetuate the conservation, natural, historical, open space, and recreational uses or values for which they were originally acquired.  Uses which are adverse to the original purposes for which the interests in land were acquired with trust funds are not permitted without securing a: (1) two‑thirds vote of the board, following a finding of fact that the land no longer exhibits the characteristics that qualified it for acquisition with funds from the fund; and (2) majority vote of the State Budget and Control Board.
Funds from the trust fund may not be used to acquire interests in lands or other interests in real property through the exercise of any power of eminent domain or condemnation proceeding.  This provision may not be repealed, amended, or otherwise modified except by an affirmative two‑thirds vote of the total membership of both the House of Representatives and the Senate.
The provisions of this legislation must not be construed to eliminate or unreasonably restrict hunting, fishing, farming, forestry, timber management, or wildlife habitat management, as regulated by the laws of this State, upon lands for which interests in lands are obtained pursuant to this chapter.  These and other traditional and compatible activities may be conducted, where appropriate, upon lands preserved with trust funds.
The bill requires the Bank submit an annual report containing specified data, to the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, and General Assembly.  The Board must also perform a bi‑annual review of the plight of land loss by small landowners and holders of heirs property.  The results of this review must be submitted to the General Assembly.

The South Carolina Conservation Bank Act provisions are repealed effective July 1, 2013, unless reenacted or otherwise extended by the General Assembly.  However, the South Carolina Conservation Bank established by this act may continue to operate as if it were not repealed until the South Carolina Conservation Bank Trust Fund is exhausted or July 1, 2016, whichever first occurs.  Any balance in that trust fund on July 1, 2016, reverts to the general fund of the State.
STATUS:  S.297 passed the General Assembly and was signed into law by the Governor on April 10, 2002 (Act 200).

HISTORIC REHABILITATION INCENTIVES ACT (H.3163)

The General Assembly passed H.3163, the South Carolina Historic Rehabilitation Incentives Act, and the legislation was signed into law by the Governor on May 1.  The legislation provides state income tax credits for certain expenditures incurred in the rehabilitation of certified historic structures located in this State.  The legislation provides a state income tax credit equal to ten percent of rehabilitation expenses incurred for a taxpayer who is eligible for the federal income tax credit allowed for the rehabilitation of historic structures for profit-making ventures.  For taxpayers who do not qualify for the federal income tax credit and who are rehabilitating a certified historic residential structure, the legislation provides a state income tax credit equal to twenty-five percent of rehabilitation expenses incurred.

STATUS:  The General Assembly passed H.3163 and the Governor signed the bill into law on May 1, 2002 (Act 229).

THE COURTS

LEGAL NAME CHANGES (H.3906)

The General Assembly passed H.3906 and ratified the bill on June 4.  This bill sets out new procedures for obtaining a legal name change in the family court.  The purpose of this bill is to ensure that the court is aware of the criminal history of a petitioner before a name change is granted; and that if a petition for a name change is granted and the petitioner does have a criminal background, that the proper agencies are notified of the name change.  The requirements of the legislation do not apply when an individual is seeking a name change as a result of a marriage or divorce, or when a parent is seeking a name change for a minor child.

This bill includes the following new requirements for petitioners and the clerks of court for obtaining a legal name change:  (1) requires that a petitioner include the results of a fingerprint check in addition to a criminal background check;  (2) requires the petitioner to provide an affidavit to the court to affirm whether he/she is under a court order to pay child support or alimony;  (3) adds that the petitioner must provide with his/her petition for a name change a screening statement from the State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) indicating whether he/she was on the sex offender registry.  If the petitioner is on the registry and the petition is granted, the clerk of court is required to notify SLED so that SLED may update the registry to properly reflect the name change;  (4) adds that the petitioner must provide a screening statement from the Department of Social Services indicating whether he/she is on DSS’s Central Registry of Child Abuse and Neglect.  If the petitioner is on the registry and the petition is granted, the clerk of court is required to notify DSS so that DSS may update the registry to properly reflect the name change; (5) requires the clerk of court to notify the Department of Corrections of prisoners who are granted a name change, so that DOC can accurately reflect the change in the prisoner’s criminal record; and  (6) requires that all costs associated with the legal name change requirements be borne by the petitioner.

The legislation gives the family court discretion to determine when a hearing on a legal name change petition is necessary.

STATUS:  The General Assembly passed H.3906 and ratified the bill on June 4, 2002 (R.427).

PRIVATE GUARDIAN AD LITEM REFORM ACT (S.322)

The General Assembly passed S.322, the “South Carolina Private Guardian Ad Litem Reform Act” and ratified the bill on June 6.  The legislation provides for the appointment, removal, qualifications, training, responsibilities, duties, disclosure, and fee requirements of guardians ad litem appointed in private custody and visitation cases.

The legislation provides that the family court can appoint a guardian ad litem in a private action where custody or visitation of a minor is an issue, (1) if the court determines that it will not be informed of all the facts of the case and there is a substantial dispute necessitating the appointment or (2) both parties consent to the appointment. The court has absolute discretion in determining who will be appointed as a GAL in each case and the GAL must be appointed by a court order.  

The legislation provides for the requirements attorneys and non-attorneys must meet to be appointed, and to remain qualified to serve as, guardians ad litem.  These requirements include a minimum age requirement of 25 years, a high school diploma or its equivalent, and minimum hours of training and observation of trials.  Attorneys must complete a minimum of six hours of family law continuing legal education in the area of custody and visitation; however the court may waive this requirement.  Lay GAL’s must initially complete nine hours of continuing education in the areas of custody and visitation and three hours related to substantive law and procedure in family court.  Thereafter, lay GAL’s must complete annually six hours of continuing education in the areas of custody and visitation.  Further, lay GAL’s must observe three contested custody merit hearings.   People convicted of certain listed crimes cannot serve as a guardian ad litem.  A guardian ad litem must show compliance with requirements by submission of an affidavit. 
The legislation establishes the responsibilities and duties of the guardian ad litem. These responsibilities include, but are not limited to, representing the best interests of the child and conducting an investigation to determine the relevant facts of the case. The GAL is required to meet with and observe the child on at least one occasion, visit the home settings if deemed appropriate, interview the parents, caregivers, and others with knowledge relevant to the case, obtain the criminal history of each party if necessary, and consider the wishes of the child if appropriate.  The GAL is responsible for advocating for the child’s best interests, attending all court hearings unless excused by the court, maintaining a complete file, and presenting to the court and all parties clear and comprehensive written reports including a final written report regarding the child’s best interest.  Further, the GAL has access to the child’s school records and medical records and the GAL may petition the family court for the medical records of the parties.  The final written report of the GAL must be submitted to the court no later than twenty days prior to the merits hearing unless modified by the court.  A GAL must not be compensated for reviewing documents or attending court hearings not relevant to the suitability of the parents as to custody, visitation, or child support.  The guardian ad litem may submit briefs, memoranda, affidavits or other documents on behalf of the child and may submit affidavits at the temporary hearing.  The GAL must not mediate, attempt to mediate, or act as a mediator in a case to which he has been appointed.  However, this does not prohibit a GAL from participating in a mediation or a settlement conference with the consent of the parties.  

The legislation provides that the family court judge will set the method and rate of compensation for the guardian ad litem including an initial authorization of a fee.  If the GAL determines it is necessary to exceed the fee initially authorized, the guardian must provide notice to both parties and obtain the judge’s written authorization or the consent of both parties to charge more.  In determining the reasonableness of fees and costs, the court must take into account the complexity of the issues, the contentiousness of the litigation, the time expended, the expenses reasonably incurred, the financial ability of the parties to pay fees and costs, and any other factors the court considers necessary.  This section also requires the guardian ad litem to submit itemized bills, as fees and costs accrue, to the parties and their attorneys pursuant to a schedule as directed by the court.  A party may petition to have the Court review all fees at any time during the action.  

The legislation provides that a guardian ad litem must provide written disclosure to each party of the following: (1) the nature, duration and extent of any relationship the GAL or any member of the GAL’s immediate family residing in the guardian’s household has with any party; (2) any interest adverse to any party or attorney which might cause the impartiality of the GAL to be challenged; and (3) any membership or participation in any organization related to child abuse, domestic violence, or drug and alcohol abuse.

A guardian may be removed from a case at the discretion of the court.

STATUS:  The General Assembly passed S.322 and ratified the bill (R.442) on June 6, 2002.

CRIME AND PUNISHMENT

COMPUTER ABUSE ACT (H.3539)

The General Assembly passed H.3539, the Computer Abuse Act, and the Governor signed the bill into law on February 8, 2002.  This legislation makes revisions to the Computer Crimes Act, including adding a definition for the term “computer contaminant.”  The term “computer contaminant” means a computer program designed to modify, damage, destroy, disable, functionally impair, record, or transmit information within a computer, computer system, or computer network without the consent or implied consent of the owner.  The term computer contaminant includes, but is not limited to, a group of computer programs commonly known as ‘viruses’ and ‘worms’ that are self‑replicating or self‑propagating, and that are designed to contaminate other computer programs, consume computer resources, modify, destroy, record, or transmit data, or in some fashion usurp the normal operation of the computer, computer system, or computer network.  The legislation makes it an offense under the Computer Crimes Act to introduce a computer contaminant into a computer, computer system, computer program, or computer network.  The legislation revises the definition for “computer hacking” so as to explicitly state that it does not include the introduction of a computer contaminant into a computer, computer system, computer program, or computer network.  The definition for “computer hacking” is also revised to include malicious intent to commit another crime after computer contact is established.  

The legislation provides that, in addition to other civil remedies available, the owner or lessee of a computer, computer system, computer network, computer program, or data may bring a civil action against a person convicted under the Computer Crimes Act for compensatory damages and restitution.  Compensatory damages and restitution may include: (1) expenditures reasonably and necessarily incurred by the owner or lessee to verify whether a computer system, computer network, computer program, or data was altered, damaged, or deleted by the access; (2) costs of repairing or, if necessary, replacing the affected computer, computer system, computer network, computer software, computer program, or database; (3) lost profits for the period that the computer, computer system, computer network, computer software, computer program, or database was unusable; and (4) costs of replacing or restoring the data lost or damaged as a result of a violation of the law.

STATUS:  The General Assembly passed H.3539 and the Governor signed the bill into law on February 8, 2002 (Act 169).

“ECSTASY” DRUG PROVISIONS (H.4629)

Under federal law, the drug 3, 4‑methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA), commonly known as Ecstasy, is classified as a Schedule I narcotic.  South Carolina operates under a regulation specifying that substances identified as Schedule I controlled substances under federal law are automatically recognized as Schedule I controlled substances in this state.  In this way, possession of Ecstasy has been illegal in South Carolina even though the drug has not been specifically listed under any of the schedules of controlled substances provided in state statutes.  While possession of Ecstasy has been illegal, state law has not specifically differentiated between small amounts of the drug and larger amounts presumably stockpiled for distribution or sale to others.  The General Assembly approved H.4629 to incorporate ecstasy into the state’s drug offense statutes and establish offenses for distributing and trafficking in this drug that has risen in popularity in recent years especially among teens.  

The legislation specifically adds 3, 4‑methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA), i.e. Ecstasy, to the list of Schedule I Controlled Substances.  The legislation establishes that possession of more than fifteen tablets, capsules, dosage units, or the equivalent quantity of Ecstasy constitutes the felony of possession with intent to distribute which carries a maximum penalty of five years and/or five thousand dollars for the first offense.  For a second offense, the maximum penalty is ten years and/or ten thousand dollars.  For a third or subsequent offense, the penalty range is 5-20 years and/or twenty thousand dollars.  

The legislation sets the standard for the felony of trafficking in Ecstasy at 100 or more tablets, capsules, dosage units, or the equivalent quantity.  For such a felony involving more than 100 but less than 500 dosage units of Ecstasy, the punishment for a first offense is 3-10 years imprisonment, no part of which may be suspended or probation granted, and a fine of twenty thousand dollars.  A second offense incurs 5-30 years, no part of which may be suspended or probation granted, and a fine of forty thousand dollars.  A third or subsequent offense incurs 25-30 years, no part of which can be suspended or probation granted, and a fine of fifty thousand dollars.  If an offender is convicted of felony trafficking involving at least 500 but less than 1000 units of Ecstasy, the penalties are as follows: 1st offense 7-25 years, no part of which may be suspended or probation granted, and a fine of fifty thousand dollars; 2nd offense 7-30 years, no part of which may be suspended or probation granted, and a fine of fifty thousand dollars; 3rd or subsequent offense 25-30 years, no part of which may be suspended or probation granted, and a fine of fifty thousand dollars.  If an offender is convicted of felony trafficking involving at least 1000 dosage units of Ecstasy the punishment is 25 years, no part of which may be suspended or probation granted, and a fine of one hundred thousand dollars. 

The legislation also includes Ecstasy in a provision under which vehicles and conveyances used in drug trafficking are forfeited to the state.

STATUS:  The General Assembly passed H.4629 and the Governor signed the bill into law on May 20 (Act 267).

JURY CHARGE REGARDING LIFE IMPRISONMENT FOR MURDER (H.3819)

The General Assembly passed H.3819, a bill concerning the information a jury is provided regarding life imprisonment for a murder conviction. The law has provided that in the case of a murder conviction, a sentence of “life imprisonment” means until the offender’s death.  This legislation provides that in such situations life imprisonment means until the offender’s death without the possibility of parole.  The legislation provides that, when requested by the State or the defendant, the judge must charge the jury in his instructions that life imprisonment means until the death of the defendant without the possibility of parole.  In cases where the defendant is eligible for parole, the judge must charge the applicable statute that sets out parole eligibility.  

STATUS:  The General Assembly passed H.3819 and the Governor signed the bill into law on May 28, 2002.  

EDUCATION

CHARTER SCHOOLS (S.12)

The General Assembly approved S.12, a bill which amends the law regarding the organization, operation, and governance of charter schools in South Carolina.  Major highlights of the bill include the following:


Provides that it is the intent of the General Assembly that creation of this chapter encourages cultural diversity, educational improvement, and academic excellence.  Provides further that it is not the intent of the General Assembly to create a segregated school system but to continue to promote educational improvement and excellence in South Carolina.


Requires a racial quota of 20% of the school district or of the targeted student population, but allows for a variance if it is found that the charter committee is not operating in a discriminatory manner.


Clarifies that the charter school applicant is not required to provide a list of prospective or tentatively enrolled students or prospective employees with the application.


Establishes a Charter School Advisory Committee to review charter applications for compliance with established standards that reflect the requirements and intent of the chapter.


Advisory committee made up of eleven members:

o
2 from SC Association of Public Charter Schools

o
1 from SC Association of School Administrators

o
2 from SC Chamber of Commerce

o
1 from SC Education Oversight Committee

o
1 from SC Commission on Higher Education

o
1 from SC School Boards Association

o
1 from SC Alliance of Black Educators

o
1 teacher appointed by State Superintendent of Education

o
1 parent appointed by State Superintendent of Education


Advisory committee will have two ex-officio nonvoting members to represent the local school board of trustees and the charter committee of the affected school district.


Advisory committee will: 

o
give consideration to the appointment of minorities and women as representatives on the committee,

o
convene on or before July 1, 2002, at the call of the State Superintendent of Education,

o
elect a chair and other officers it deems necessary,

o
establish by-laws to include terms of office, and

o
have 60 days to rule on application compliance.


Gives the local board of trustees thirty days to rule on an application once a letter of compliance is received from the advisory committee.


Requires the State Board of Education to define “adverse affects” in regulation.


Clarifies that in a school seeking conversion, parents or guardians of students in the school shall have one vote for each student enrolled.


Calls for the establishment of a state reserve fund beginning 2003-04 to provide to the local school district the first year of a charter school’s operation the base student cost times a 1.0 weighted pupil unit for each student enrolled in the charter school who was enrolled in another noncharter public school in the district the previous school year.


Requires an impact study conducted by the State Board of Education two years after the implementation of the Charter School Advisory Committee review process to determine the effectiveness of the application process.


Requires the State Board of Education to develop:

o
standards that the Charter School Advisory Committee will use to determine compliance, and

o
a timeline for submission of applications so that the application process is complete by December 1 of the year preceding the charter school’s opening.


Provides that charter school applications scheduled to open prior to December 1, 2003, would not send their application for review by the Advisory Committee but would apply directly to the local school district board of trustees.

STATUS:  S.12 was approved by the House and the Senate and has been ratified (R.438).

SCHOOL START DATE 

(See H.4878 under the “Appropriations” section of this document and H.4879, the Budget Proviso Codification Act)

S.C. RESEARCH CENTERS OF ECONOMIC EXCELLENCE (H.4879)
(See H.4879, the Budget Proviso Codification Act)

STUDENT-LED MESSAGE ACT (H.4683)

The General Assembly passed H.4683, the Student-Led Message Act.  This legislation authorizes the governing body of a school district to adopt a policy regarding prayers or other brief opening or closing remarks delivered by students at graduation exercises and school-sponsored athletic events.   Under such a policy, a student could not be disciplined or reprimanded by the school for any message that is not obscene, profane, or vulgar so long as the content of the message is prepared or selected by the student and is not recommended, monitored, reviewed, or censored by a member of the governing body of the school district, its officers, or employees.  In the case of graduation exercises, students covered by such a policy would be graduating high school students as selected by school policy using objective criteria such as academic standing or the ex‑officio function of a student office or position.  In the case of school-sponsored athletic events, students covered by such a policy would be either (1) the captains of athletic teams at a high school or their student designees; or (2) a student designated by the members of that team.

STATUS:  The General Assembly passed H.4683 and ratified the bill on June 6, 2002 (R.473).

THE ENVIRONMENT

INCENTIVES FOR VOLUNTARY CLEANUP OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONTAMINATION 

The General Assembly approved H.4548, which provides incentives for voluntary cleanup of environmental contamination.  The bill amends the investment requirements for fee-in-lieu-of taxes qualification by adding that “investments” may, under certain conditions, include amounts expended by a sponsor or sponsor affiliate as a nonresponsible party in a voluntary cleanup contract on the property pursuant to the Brownfields Voluntary Cleanup Program.  The bill provides that if the Department of Health and Environmental Control has issued a certificate of completion for the cleanup, and the cleanup investment amounts equal at least one million dollars, the investment threshold requirement is deemed to have been met.  

The  bill also allows and includes provisions for a credit against corporate income taxes due for costs of voluntary cleanup activity by a nonresponsible party pursuant to the Brownfields Voluntary Cleanup Program.  The bill also amends current provisions regarding the job tax credit by providing that taxpayers which otherwise qualify for the job tax credit and which are located and the qualifying jobs are located on property where a response action has been completed pursuant to a nonresponsible party volunteer cleanup contract pursuant to the Brownfields Voluntary Cleanup Program, are allowed an additional one thousand dollar credit for each new full-time job created. This additional credit is permitted for five years.  

The bill also provides that subject to approval of the county governing body, property and improvements subject to a nonresponsible party voluntary cleanup contract for which a certificate of completion has been issued by DHEC pursuant to the Brownfields Voluntary Cleanup Program, is exempt from ad valorem taxation as specified in the bill.

STATUS:  H.4548 was approved by the General Assembly and has been signed by the Governor (Act #280).

INNOVATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL APPROACHES (H.4258)

The House approved and sent to the Senate H.4258, a bill pertaining to a pilot program on innovative environmental approaches.  This bill authorizes the Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC) to administer a pilot program under which it may enter into up to ten cooperative agreements (for up to five years with a possible five year renewal) with eligible participants to implement and evaluate the use of innovative environmental approaches not otherwise authorized under existing law. The bill requires that participants be members of the South Carolina Environmental Excellence Program.  The bill provides for pilot program procedures and delineates items that must be included in the cooperative agreements with participants.  The bill also authorizes DHEC to grant a participant a variance from a requirement in South Carolina environmental law that would otherwise apply to a facility covered by a cooperative agreement if the variance meets certain criteria. The bill requires participants to comply with certain reporting and enforcement procedures.

STATUS:  H.4258 was approved by the General Assembly and became law without the Governor’s signature.

HEALTH & SOCIAL SERVICES

CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT REPORTS, STEPHANIE’S LAW (S.1208)

The General Assembly passed S.1208, titled Stephanie’s Law in memory of four-year-old Stephanie Carter who died in October of 2000 from injuries sustained through repeated acts of physical abuse.  On June 6, 2002, the Governor signed the bill into law.  The legislation establishes more rigorous reporting and record keeping guidelines for child abuse and neglect cases in South Carolina.  This legislation provides that when the Department of Social Services receives a report of suspected child abuse or neglect, DSS must determine whether previous reports have been made regarding the same child or the same subject of the report.  The bill further provides that if DSS does not conduct an investigation as a result of information received, DSS must make a record of the report and allow that information to be used by the department and law enforcement for purposes of assessing risk and safety if additional contacts are made concerning the child, the family, or the subject of the report.  

This bill also requires that DSS retain records of all reports and place each report in a specified category (suspected, indicated, or unfounded) based on the department investigation.  The bill provides that reports classified as unfounded must be retained by DSS for up to five years.  Once these records are classified as unfounded, the bill limits access to them and specifically exempts them from Freedom of Information Act inquiry.  The bill also ends the practice of purging certain records from the central registry, allowing Department access to all reports at all times.

The bill precludes the registry from containing any report that the Department classifies as unfounded.

STATUS:  The Senate and House passed S.1208 and the Governor signed the bill into law on June 6, 2002. 

CRIMINAL RECORD CHECKS OF DIRECT CARE STAFF (H.3145)

The General Assembly approved H.3145, which prohibits “direct care entities” (defined as nursing homes, home health agencies, adult daycare facilities, and community residential facilities) from employing or contracting with a direct caregiver until after the direct caregiver has undergone a criminal record check as provided in the bill.  A “direct caregiver” is defined as a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, or certified nurse assistant; any other licensed professional employed by or contracting with a direct care entity who provides direct care of services to patients or clients-including but not limited to, a physical, speech, occupational, or respiratory care therapist; a person who is not licensed but provides physical assistance or care to persons served by a direct care entity;  a person employed by or under contract with a direct care entity who works within any building housing patients or clients;  a person employed by or under contract with a direct care entity whose duties include the possibility of patient or client contact;  or a faculty member or student enrolled in an educational program, including clinical study in a direct care entity. 

Pending the results of the record check, a person temporarily may be employed or may contract as a direct caregiver with a direct care entity. Also, the bill allows a direct care entity to consider information revealed by a criminal record check as a factor in evaluating a direct caregiver’s application to be employed by or contract with the entity.  

The bill requires a direct caregiver applicant to provide verification of residency for the twelve months preceding the date of the employment application and the bill includes provisions for record checks on applicants who verify South Carolina residency during that period, and for applicants who are unable to verify South Carolina residency during that period.  The bill specifies who may conduct these criminal record checks and provides for an applicant’s fingerprints to be submitted with the application.

The bill provides that the criminal record check is not required to be repeated as long as the person remains employed by or continues to contract with a direct care entity. However, if a person is not employed by or is not under contract for one year or longer with a direct care entity, the record check must be repeated before employment or a contract is renewed with a direct care entity. Any FBI fees for the fingerprint review must be paid by the individual direct caregiver or the direct care entity.  The bill provides for a direct care entity furnishing copies of personnel records of direct caregivers to another direct care entity and provides immunity from liability for release of this information.  A direct care entity receiving such records is required to conduct its own criminal record check.

The bill requires the Department of Health and Environmental Control to verify that direct care entities are complying with the requirements of this bill before issuing a renewal license for a direct care entity.  The bill provides for a civil fine to be imposed upon individuals who violate the provisions of the bill.  The bill requires that within twelve months of July 1, 2002 (the effective date of the bill) a direct care entity shall conduct criminal record checks on all direct caregivers employed by or under contract with the direct care entity as of that date.

STATUS:  Approved by the General Assembly and signed by the Governor (Act 242).

HOMELAND SECURITY

HOMELAND SECURITY ACT (H.4416)

Responding to the security concerns that have emerged since the devastating events of September 11, 2001, the General Assembly passed H.4416, the South Carolina Homeland Security Act to provide appropriate measures for ensuring the safety of the citizens of the State.  The legislation equips the State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) with wiretapping authority in order to investigate certain serious crimes and terrorist activity.  The bill creates numerous safeguards to prevent the abuse of this authority to intercept communications.  The safeguards include:


The bill requires the application for a wiretap to be initiated by the Chief of SLED and requires the Attorney General or his designated assistant to review the application and then allows the submission of the application to a judge of competent jurisdiction.


The bill requires that anyone conducting an interception do so under the direct supervision of SLED.  


The bill defines judge of competent jurisdiction as a circuit court judge designated by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.


Appeals would be to the reviewing authority defined as a panel of 3 judges of the Court of Appeals designated by the Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals.


The bill requires that the motion to suppress be done before the reviewing authority and that the reviewing authority unanimously uphold the issuance of the order before the contents are admissible.


The legislation also provides that any civil action against the State and its employee acting in an official capacity must be brought under the South Carolina Tort Claims Act.

The legislation revises current law on Bombs, Destructive Devices, and Weapons of Mass Destruction so as to update existing law and expand the definition of weapon of mass destruction to parallel federal provisions.  

The bill provides that a person who, without lawful authority, possesses, uses, threatens, or attempts or conspires to possess or use a weapon of mass destruction in furtherance of an act of terrorism is guilty of a felony and upon conviction: (1) in cases resulting in the death of another person, must be punished by death or by imprisonment for life; or (2) in cases which do not result in the death of another person, must be punished by imprisonment for not less than twenty‑five years nor more than life.  

The bill updates existing law on computer crimes and gives the State Grand Jury jurisdiction over computer crimes and terrorist acts.

The legislation affords the Governor the authority to declare a state of emergency for a public health emergency.  

The legislation establishes the Emergency Health Powers Act which extends broad authority to the Department of Health and Human Services in the event of a public health emergency to respond to such emergency through procedures for vaccinations and quarantines of those people who refuse vaccination.

The legislation establishes provisions for the reporting of unusual illnesses by coroners, health care providers, and pharmacists.  Similar provisions are applied to veterinarians and farmers to track any effects of biological terrorism on animal populations or crops.

In instances of looting during a state of emergency declared by the Governor, the legislation requires restitution for victims.  

The legislation establishes penalties for charging unconscionable prices (price-gouging) during a declared state of emergency or disaster.  Penalties are established for knowingly and willfully using a misleading practice or device to solicit the contribution or sale of goods or services for charitable purposes in connection with a declared state of emergency or disaster.

The legislation exempts security plans from Freedom of Information Act requirements although the costs expended to implement those plans would be subject to the provisions of FOIA.  An FOIA exemption is provided for information relating to structural bridge plans.

The legislation creates the First Responders Advisory Committee.  The authority and responsibilities of the committee are to research, study, analyze, determine, and report to the General Assembly by January 1, 2003, and thereafter to the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House concerning the needs of the first responders, including personnel involved with fire, law enforcement, emergency medical, emergency planning and coordinating, and 911 and other emergency communications.  The issues to be studied with regard to first responders include, but are not limited to: (1) performance of their duties, rendering of their services to the public in general, and to the individuals involved in an emergency, including the other first responders involved; (2) preparing for the performance of those duties, including equipping, training, planning, and coordinating; (3) funding their operations; (4) preserving and enhancing their personal fitness, well‑being, morale, and welfare; (5) the appropriate role the State should play in continuing to assess and address the identified needs, including whether, and in what form, a new or existing state agency could and should be authorized and funded to assist in that role; and (6) the consideration of legislation to address the identified needs and providing the General Assembly with draft legislation with regard to these issues.

The legislation establishes within the Adjutant General’s Preparedness Division a statewide Urban Search and Recovery Team for response to emergency situations, to the extent that funding is provided by the General Assembly.

The legislation gives Special Purpose Districts the authority to establish public safety departments to protect water, gas, or other facilities.  The authority does not, however, include the issuance traffic tickets.

The General Assembly authorizes (subject to appropriations) the State Budget and Control Board to plan, develop, and implement a statewide South Carolina 211 Network, which must serve as the single point of coordination for information and referral for health and human services.

The legislation provides that, in order to protect the State’s critical information technology infrastructure and associated data systems in the event of a major disaster, whether natural or otherwise, and to allow the services to the citizens of this State to continue in such an event, the Office of the State Chief Information Officer (CIO) should develop a Critical Information Technology Infrastructure Protection Plan.  Such a plan should include policies and procedures to provide for the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of, and to allow for alternative and immediate on‑line access to critical data and information systems including, but not limited to, health and human services, law enforcement, and related agency data necessary to provide critical information to citizens and ensure the protection of state employees as they carry out their disaster‑related duties.

The legislation includes volunteer state constables under State Workers’ Compensation provisions while in the performance of their duties.

The bill eliminates an existing provision that allows a person to refuse to have his or her picture on his or her driver’s license.

The legislation provides that a private investigator applicant must submit with the application one complete set of the applicant’s fingerprints on forms specified or furnished by SLED.  Fingerprint cards submitted to SLED must be used to facilitate a national criminal records check,

STATUS:  The General Assembly passed H.4416 and ratified the bill on June 4, 2002 (R.428).

RESTRICTED FERTILIZERS (H.4944)

The General Assembly approved H.4944.  This bill codifies a definition for “restricted fertilizer,” which is a commercial fertilizer having a potential explosive capacity that is determined to present an unreasonable threat to public safety. The stated intent of the bill is to provide and allow for monitoring of the distribution of restricted fertilizers in this State and to encourage distributors to sell restricted fertilizers only to persons known to use such fertilizer for farm or garden purposes. The bill provides for fertilizer distribution permits, distinguishing between general and restricted fertilizer permits. A general permit authorizes the permit holder to engage in the distribution of commercial fertilizers except those determined to be restricted fertilizers.  A restricted fertilizer permit authorizes the permit holder to engage in the distribution of all commercial fertilizers, including those that are designated as restricted fertilizers. The bill also provides that:


A restricted fertilizer permit holder may refuse to sell to persons attempting to purchase restricted fertilizers out of season, in unusual quantities, or under suspect purchase patterns;


A restricted fertilizer permit holder must record specified identification information on purchasers and maintain same for at least two years;


Annual restricted fertilizer permit fee is $250; no fee is charged for general fertilizer permit;


For homeland security purposes, identifying information relating to the holder of a general or restricted fertilizer permit is exempt from disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act; Violation of these provisions is a misdemeanor and the bill provides penalties for conviction.


No established agricultural facility or operation is or may become a private or public nuisance by any changed conditions in or about the locality of the facility or operation unless the nuisance results from the negligent, improper, or illegal operation of an agricultural facility or operation;


Clemson University, in conjunction with the Department of Health and Environmental Control, shall create a training and certification program for owners or operators of certain animal facilities (as defined in a specified Regulation) which must include, but is not limited to, understanding relevant regulations, issues, standards, principles, and practices regarding siting and management of an animal facility and land application of animal waste; controlling vectors, testing for toxic metals, organic materials, and other elements; and implementing emergency procedures and spill prevention protocols;


An operator of an animal facility and waste utilization area must be trained and certified according to DHEC Regulations on the operation of animal waste management under the above-described program;


The bill does not affect the right of a person to recover damages for injuries sustained because of pollution of, or change in condition of, the waters of a stream or because of an overflow on his lands.

STATUS:  H.4944 was approved by the General Assembly and has been ratified. (R.432).

INSURANCE

HEALTH INSURANCE MANDATES (H.4583)

The General Assembly approved H.4583, a bill pertaining to state and federal health insurance mandates.  The legislation creates the Task Force to Review State and Federal Health Insurance Mandates in South Carolina.  The legislation provides for the membership, authority, and staff support of the task force.  The task force is charged with reviewing: (1) each and every State and Federally mandated health benefit placed upon health insurance issuers in South Carolina since 1990; (2) the impact of each such mandated health benefit on the premiums for health insurance coverage in South Carolina.  The task force shall make a final report with recommendations to the General Assembly no later than January 1, 2005, at which time the task force is dissolved. 

Until such time as the task force makes its final report, mandated health benefits beyond those required as of January 1, 2002 may be imposed on a health insurer doing business in this State only after review by the task force. Under no circumstances, however, is a mandate to be imposed prior to the first day of the second year after the effective date of the Act.  Nothing in this provision shall be construed to prohibit any health insurance issuer from voluntarily expanding coverage or to prohibit any individual or employer from electing to expand coverage on any health maintenance organization contract or individual or group health insurance policy or contract covering the individual, the employer, or employees of the employer as applicable.  Nothing in this provision shall be construed to prohibit amendments to comport with federal law.

STATUS:  The General Assembly passed H.4583 and ratified the bill on June 4, 2002 (R.430).

MOTORIST INSURANCE DATABASE PROGRAM ACT (H.5105)

H.5105 creates the Motorist Insurance Database Program for the purpose of establishing a database to use when verifying compliance with the State’s requirements for automobile insurance or other motor vehicle financial security.  The legislation provides that the Department of Public Safety shall convene a working group with a membership as specified in the bill for the purpose of facilitating the implementation of the program, assisting in development of regulations, and coordinating a testing phase, and necessary changes identified in this testing phase, as prescribed by the working group.  The Motor Vehicles Division in the Department of Public Safety shall develop, in a manner prescribed by the department, a system to allow the transmission of data from insurance companies to the division.  The department, with input from the Department of Insurance, shall promulgate regulations for administering and enforcing this provision.  The regulations shall specify the requirements that are necessary and appropriate for commercial lines of insurance which shall be developed with input by the Department of Insurance.  The division, for a fee prescribed and promulgated by regulation, shall make available to insurers by subscription a monthly electronic list of newly‑licensed drivers.  This list must not be used for marketing, solicitation, or another purpose not specifically enumerated.  It may only be used to provide an additional method to reduce the uninsured motorist population.  This monthly list of newly‑licensed drivers must show the:  name and gender of the driver, address, date of birth, South Carolina driver’s license number, and, if available, insurance information provided in the liability certification portion of the application for a driver’s license.  This information may be used for: (1) determining if a newly‑licensed driver is insured; (2) assigning a newly‑licensed driver to the proper automobile insurance policy for rating purposes; and (3) ordering a motor vehicle report on a newly‑licensed driver.  

If the database indicates that a motor vehicle is not insured or if the division receives notification as prescribed by regulation that a vehicle may not be insured, the division shall notify the owner of the motor vehicle that he has forty‑five days to provide the division with one of the following, or the owner’s license plates will be subject to suspension:  (1) proof of complying coverage or of self‑insurance; or (2) proof of exemption from the financial security requirements.  The bill authorizes disclosure, for a fee, of an individual’s reported database information upon request by specified individuals and agencies, only.  Funds collected from fees shall be placed by the Comptroller General into a special restricted account to be used by the department to defray expenses of the division. 

STATUS:  The General Assembly passed H.5105 and the Governor signed the bill into law on June 4, 2002.

LOTTERY

As part of H.4879, the Budget Proviso Codification Act, the General Assembly approved a distribution plan for revenues from the South Carolina Education Lottery. 

The bill also authorizes the South Carolina Lottery Commission to enter into a multi-state agreement for the sale of instant game tickets, online game tickets, and related multi-state lottery products including game shows and promotional products.

Total lottery revenue for Fiscal Years 2001-2002 and 2002-2003 is $179 million recurring funds and $80 million non-recurring funds.  Funds are distributed in the bill as follows:


Tuition assistance at technical schools and two year institutions is funded at $34 million;


LIFE Scholarships are funded with an additional $40 million;


HOPE Scholarships are funded at $5.8 million;


Need-Based Scholarships are funded at $3 million (non-recurring funds);


Palmetto Fellows Scholarships are funded at $5 million;


National Guard Scholarships are funded at $1.5 million;


Tuition Grants are funded at $3 million (non-recurring funds);


Teacher Grants are funded at $2 million (non-recurring funds);


Endowed Chairs at Research Universities are funded at $30 million;


Technology improvements at public four-year and two-year colleges and state tech schools are funded at $21.7 million (includes $10.6 million non-recurring funds);


Repair and maintenance at historically Black colleges funded at $3 million;


Research and technology at S.C. State University funded at $3 million (includes $1 million non-recurring funds);


K-12 Education Accountability Act programs funded at $23.9 million;


School buses are funded at $29 million (includes $15 million non-recurring funds);


K-5 Reading, Math, Science, and Social Studies programs are funded at $32.9 million;


ETV digitalization is funded at $18.5 million (non-recurring funds);


State Aid to County Libraries is funded at $1.5 million;


Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services is funded at $1 million;

STATUS:  H.4879 passed the General Assembly and was ratified on May 28.  The Governor’s vetoes of portions of the bill did not impact lottery distribution provisions.

MOTOR VEHICLES
DRIVER’S LICENSE AND CHILD TRANSPORTATION

REVISIONS (H.3933)

The General Assembly approved H.3933, a bill revising beginner’s permits, provisional licenses, special restricted driver’s licenses, and driver’s training and restricting the transportation of children in the open bed or open cargo area of a pickup truck or trailer.  

The bill provides revisions for the beginner’s permit that may be issued to individuals at least fifteen years of age. The legislation provides that a beginner’s permit is valid in the operation of vehicles between six a.m. and midnight, rather than “during the daylight hours,” as is currently provided.  A permittee may not drive between midnight and six o’clock a.m. unless accompanied by the permittee’s licensed parent or guardian.  The bill provides that a beginner’s permit is valid in the operation of certain scooters and cycles between six a.m. and six p.m., except that beginning on the day that daylight savings time goes into effect through the day that daylight saving time ends, the permittee may operate these certain scooters and cycles between six a.m. and eight p.m.  The bill provides that a permittee may not operate a motorcycle, motor scooter, or light motor-driven cycle at any other time unless supervised by the permittee’s motorcycle licensed parent or guardian.  The bill also increases from ninety days to one hundred eighty days the period which a person must hold a beginner’s permit before being eligible for full licensure.  

The legislation provides for revisions to the conditional (currently known as “provisional”) driver’s license issued to eligible individuals that are at least fifteen years of age and less than sixteen years of age and the special restricted driver’s license issued to eligible individuals that are at least sixteen years of age and less than seventeen years of age.  The bill provides that in addition to current requirements, a driver must complete at least forty hours of driving practice, including at least ten hours of licensed parental- or guardian-supervised driving practice during darkness, in order to be issued a conditional (currently known as “provisional”) driver’s license or a special restricted driver’s license.  The holder of conditional driver’s license or a special restricted license may not transport more than two passengers who are under twenty‑one years of age unless accompanied by a licensed adult who is twenty‑one years of age or older.  This restriction does not apply when transporting family members, or students to or from school.  In addition to current requirements, the bill also provides that a person must pass a specified driver’s education course in order to be issued a special restricted driver’s license.  The bill also provides that for purposes of issuing a special restricted driver’s license, the Department of Public Safety must accept a certificate of completion for a student who attends or is attending an out-of-state high school and passed a qualified driver’s training course or program equivalent to an approved course or program in this State.  In addition to current requirements, the bill also specifies that a person must satisfy the school attendance requirements imposed for the conditional license in order to be issued a special restricted driver’s license.  The bill also provides that a person while operating a motor vehicle under a conditional license or special restricted driver’s license (currently this provision relates only to special restricted driver’s license holders) who is convicted of a traffic offense (currently this provision applies only to point assessable offenses) or involved in an accident in which he was at fault shall have the removal of the restrictions postponed for twelve months and is not eligible to be issued a regular driver’s license until one year from the date of the last traffic offense or accident in which he was at fault or until he is seventeen years of age. Currently, removal of the license holder’s restrictions is postponed for six months during which period the licensee must be “free of any traffic convictions.”

H. 3933 also provides that it is unlawful to transport a person under fifteen years of age in the open bed or open cargo area of a pickup truck or trailer.  This provision does not apply when: (1) an adult is present in the bed or cargo area of the vehicle and is supervising the child; (2) the child is secured or restrained by a seat belt that meets specified standards; (3) an emergency situation exists; (4) the vehicle is being operated in an organized hayride or parade pursuant to a valid permit; (5) the vehicle is being operated while hunting or in an agricultural enterprise; (6) the vehicle is being operated in a county which has no incorporated area with a population greater than three thousand five hundred; or (7) the vehicle has a closed metal tailgate and is being operated less than thirty‑six miles an hour.   A person violating this provision is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined twenty‑five dollars.  No driver’s license points or insurance surcharge may be assessed for a violation.

STATUS:  H.3933 was approved by the House and Senate and has been signed by the Governor (Act 181).  The bill became effective March 5, 2002.

DRIVER’S LICENSES FOR FOREIGNERS (H.4670)

The House and Senate approved H.4670, a bill revising driver’s license issuance/renewal for foreigners.  Current law allows issuance or renewal of a driver’s license to persons from other countries who are present in South Carolina on a student visa or on a work visa, or their dependents.  This bill eliminates that provision and provides that for purposes of determining eligibility to obtain or renew a South Carolina driver’s license, the term “resident of South Carolina” includes all persons authorized by the U.S. Department of Justice, the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service, or the U.S. Department of State to live, work, or study in this country on a temporary or permanent basis who present documents indicating their intent to live, work, or study in South Carolina.  The bill provides that these persons are eligible to obtain or renew a driver’s license.  The bill also provides that a driver’s license issued pursuant to these provisions to a person who is not a lawful permanent resident of this country shall expire on the later of the expiration date of the driver’s license applicant’s authorized period of stay in the United States or the expiration date of the driver’s license applicant’s employment authorization document.  The bill further provides that in no event shall a driver’s license issued pursuant to these provisions expire less than one year or more than five years from the date of its issue.  Also, the bill provides that a person pending adjustment of status who presents appropriate documentation shall be granted a one year extension of his driver’s license which is renewable annually.

STATUS:  H.4670 was approved by both the House and the Senate and has been signed by the Governor (Act #282). 

MOTORIST INSURANCE DATABASE PROGRAM ACT

See INSURANCE

SPECIAL LICENSE PLATES 

This year, the General Assembly approved various bills creating special license plates.  Of special note are H.4652, which creates and provides for “In God We Trust” and “United We Stand” special plates; and H.4432, which creates and provides for “God Bless America” special plates.  

H.4652 provides that the fee for the “In God We Trust” plate will be the regular motor vehicle license fee. Before the Department of Public Safety produces and distributes this plate, the bill requires that the Department receive at least four hundred prepaid applications for the plate, or a deposit from an individual or organization of four thousand dollars. This deposit is refundable once an equivalent number of license plate fees is collected for that organization’s plate. The bill also requires that before production and distribution of the plate, the Department must receive and approve a plan for marketing the plate. Also, the bill provides that if the Department receives less than three hundred biennial applications and renewals for a particular special license plate, it may not produce additional special license plates in that series.  The bill provides that the fee for the special “United We Stand” plate will be $25 every two years in addition to the regular motor vehicle license fee. Funds from the fee for this plate will be distributed to the national “Rewards for Justice” fund which was created to establish rewards for the capture of terrorists. The bill also includes the same requirements for prepaid applications or deposit and for refund of deposit as are provided for the “In God We Trust” plate.

The General Assembly also approved H.4432, which creates and provides for “God Bless America” special license plates.  These plates may be produced and distributed after the Department of Public Safety receives at least four hundred prepaid applications for the plate, or a deposit of four thousand dollars from the individual or organization seeking issuance of the plate. The deposit would be refundable once an equivalent amount of license plate fees is collected for that special plate, or would be retained by the Department if the equivalent amount is not collected within four years. The bill requires that the Department must approve a plan to market the plates, and if the Department receives less than three hundred biennial applications and renewals for this special plate, it shall not produce additional special license plates in that series. The fee for this special plate is the regular motor vehicle license fee and a special license fee of sixteen dollars.  These funds would be distributed to the Department to defray the DMV’s expenses of producing and administering the plates, and remaining funds must be designated for use by the South Carolina National Guard for homeland security.

STATUS:  H.4652 (Act 236) and H.4432 (Act 218) were both approved by the House and the Senate and both bills have been signed by the Governor.

TEMPORARY LICENSE PLATES (H.3678)

Current law allows a forty-five day grace period for obtaining a permanent license plate.  Because of this grace period, law enforcement officers have not been authorized to stop vehicles that do not have license plates.  Instead of the forty-five day grace period, H.3678 provides that a vehicle may not be operated without a permanent or temporary license plate.

A person newly acquiring a vehicle or an owner of a foreign vehicle being moved into this State, before operating the vehicle on South Carolina’s highways during the forty-five day period, must do one of the following:


transfer a license plate from another vehicle;


purchase a new license plate and registration;


purchase a temporary license plate from the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV); 


purchase a temporary license plate from the county auditor’s office in the county in which the person resides;


obtain a temporary license plate from a dealer of new or used vehicles; OR


obtain a temporary license plate from the casual seller of the vehicle.

The bill includes provisions for implementation of the above requirement by the DMV, the county auditor’s office, and the applicant (casual buyer or casual seller), including authorization for charging a five dollar fee for the temporary plate to defray expenses of the production and issuance of the plate.  The bill also includes provisions and requirements for issuance of temporary plates by dealers of new or used vehicles; provisions for transferring a license plate from one vehicle to another; and replacement of a temporary plate with a permanent plate and registration card.  The bill also includes penalties for violation of the requirements included in the bill. 

STATUS:  H.3678 was approved by the House and Senate and has been signed by the Governor (Act 251).

STATE/LOCAL GOVERNMENT

FAMILY PRIVACY PROTECTION ACT (S.204)

The General Assembly passed S.204, the Family Privacy Protection Act, and the Governor signed the bill into law on May 1, 2002.  This legislation provides that all counties or state agencies, boards, commissions, institutions, departments, or other state entities must develop privacy policies and procedures to ensure that the collection, use and dissemination of personal information pertaining to citizens of the State is limited to such personal information as is required under the law and necessary to fulfill a legitimate public purpose.  Under the legislation, the term ‘personal information’ means information that identifies or describes an individual, including, but not limited to, an individual’s photograph or digitized image, social security number, date of birth, driver’s identification number, name, home address, home telephone number, medical or disability information, education level, financial status, bank account(s) number(s), account or identification number issued by and/or used by any federal or state governmental agency or private financial institution, employment history, height, weight, race, other physical details, signature, biometric identifiers, and any credit record(s) or report(s).  ‘Personal information’ does not mean information about boating accidents vehicular accidents, driving violations, boating violations, or driver status.  In collecting personal information as authorized, a government entity must advise citizens that the information is subject to public scrutiny or release.  

The legislation provides that a person or private entity shall not knowingly obtain or use any personal information obtained from a public body for commercial solicitation directed to any person in this State.  A person knowingly violating this provision is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined an amount not to exceed five hundred dollars or imprisoned for a term not to exceed one year, or both.  Every public body shall notify all requestors of records of the prohibition on the use of personal information obtained from public records for commercial solicitation.  All state agencies shall take reasonable measures to ensure that personal information obtained from a public record is not used for commercial solicitation. 

S.204 also revises the procedure for blood samples taken from the state’s infants for Department of Health and Environmental Control neonatal testing to detect inborn metabolic errors and hemoglobinopathies.  The legislation allows parents objecting to the tests to opt out using forms promulgated by DHEC.  The bill provides that such a blood sample is confidential and may be released only as the parent or legal guardian of the child from whom a blood sample was obtained, or the child when eighteen years of age or older, directs the department at the time of testing or at any time after that on a form promulgated in regulation by the department.  The legislation provides for the conditions under which the blood samples are to be stored and maintained.  At the time of testing or at any time after that, on a form promulgated in regulation by the department, the parent or legal guardian of the child from whom a blood sample was obtained, or the child when eighteen years of age or older, may direct the department to: (a) return a blood sample in its entirety and any test results not less than two years after the date of testing; (b) destroy a blood sample in a scientifically acceptable manner not less than two years after the date of the testing; or (c) store a blood sample at minus 20º centigrade but not release the blood sample for confidential, anonymous scientific study.  A blood sample released for confidential, anonymous study must not contain information that may be used to determine the identity of the donor.  A blood sample released may contain demographic or other statistical information.  If scientific study identifies genetic information that may benefit the child, the department may notify confidentially the parent or legal guardian, or the child if eighteen years of age or older, of this information.  Blood samples taken prior to the effective date of the act that have not been stored under the conditions prescribed in the legislation must be properly destroyed.  The legislation revises penalties for violations, specifying that fines may not exceed fifty thousand dollars and imprisonment may not exceed three years.

STATUS:  S.204 passed the General Assembly and was signed into law by the Governor on May 1, 2002 (Act 225).

GOVERNMENT-OWNED TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICE PROVIDERS (S.290)

The General Assembly approved S.290, a bill that addresses the entry of South Carolina municipalities into the telecommunications field.  The legislation establishes restrictions for the operation of a government‑owned telecommunications service provider which is identified as a state or local political subdivision, person, or entity providing telecommunications service to the public for hire over a facility, operation, or system that is directly or indirectly owned by, operated by, or a financial benefit obtained by or derived from, an agency or entity of the State or any local government.  The legislation provides that a government-owned telecommunications service is subject to the same local, state, and federal regulatory, statutory, and other legal requirements that nongovernment‑owned telecommunications service providers are subject to, including regulation by the Public Service Commission.  The legislation provides that a government-owned telecommunications service cannot be the recipient of any financial benefits of any type that nongovernment‑owned telecommunications service providers are not recipients of including, but not limited to, tax exemptions and governmental subsidies of any type.  Tax exempt capital financing may be used if consistent with certain statutory constraints.  A government-owned telecommunications provider is not permitted to subsidize the cost of providing telecommunications service with funds from any other nontelecommunications service, operation, or other revenue source.  Restrictions are provided for calculating the cost incurred and in the rates to be charged for the provision of telecommunications services by such providers.  A government-owned telecommunications service provider must keep separate books and separately account for the revenues, expenses, property, and source of investment dollars associated with the provision of telecommunications service.  A government-owned telecommunications provider must prepare and publish an independent annual audit in accordance that reflects the full cost of providing the service.  The legislation establishes requirements under which a government‑owned telecommunications service provider shall pay or collect taxes each year in a manner equivalent to taxes paid by nongovernment‑owned telecommunications service providers.  The legislation also establishes a procedure under which government‑owned and nongovernment‑owned telecommunications service providers in the same competitive position, to the extent possible, are to pay a rate for liability insurance equal to or greater than the average market rate for private sector liability insurance in South Carolina as determined by the Department of Insurance.

STATUS:  The General Assembly passed S.290 and ratified the bill on June 6, 2002 (R.441).

POLITICAL SUBDIVISION’S AUTHORITY TO ESTABLISH A MINIMUM WAGE (H.3289)

The General Assembly passed H.3289, a bill providing conditions for minimum wages that may be established by political subdivisions such as a municipalities, counties, school districts, special purpose districts, or public service districts.  The legislation provides that a political subdivision of this State may not establish, mandate, or otherwise require a minimum wage rate that exceeds the federal minimum wage rate set forth in the Fair Labor Standards Act.  Also, a political subdivision of this State may not establish, mandate, or otherwise require a 

minimum wage rate related to employee wages that are exempt under the Fair Labor Standards Act.  This provision does not limit the authority of political subdivisions to establish wage rates in contracts to which they are a party.

STATUS:  Having passed the General Assembly, H.3289 became law without the signature of the Governor on May 15, 2002 (Act 243).

STATE GENERAL OBLIGATION ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT BOND ACT (S.1200)

(See summary under Business section of this document)

TAXATION
HISTORIC REHABILITATION INCENTIVES ACT (S.297)

(See summary under Conservation/Historic Preservation section of this document)

JOINT COMMITTEE ON TAXATION (S.852)

S.852, among other things, establishes a nine member Joint Committee on Taxation (the Committee), appointed as follows: three Senators appointed by the Chair of the Senate Finance Committee, who serve ex-officio; three House members appointed by the Chair of the Ways and Means Committee, who serve ex-officio; and three members of the business community, appointed by the Governor. One of the business representatives must be a certified public accountant. The Committee is charged to study all revenue-related State laws and to recommend changes in the State’s basic tax structure and in the rates of taxation, together with predicted revenue effects of the changes together with proposed alternate sources of revenue.  The goal stated in the bill is that our State revenue system be stable, equitable, and fair when compared with the tax structures of other states, and that business enterprises and persons be encouraged by the economic impact of our State revenue laws to move themselves and their business enterprises to South Carolina.  The bill also charges the Committee to report on the economic impact of the South Carolina tax structure upon the business enterprises of various types of industry, as compared with other southeastern states, and make recommendations for long-range revenue planning and for future amendments to our State revenue laws.  The Committee is to report to the General Assembly and the Governor by June 30, 2006, at which time the Committee will be dissolved.

STATUS:  S.852 was approved by the General Assembly and has been ratified (R.445).

REVISIONS TO FEE-IN-LIEU-OF-TAX SIMPLIFICATION ACT (S.852)

(See summary under Business section of this document)
MAJOR LEGISLATION THAT DID NOT PASS

CAMPAIGN FINANCE (H.3144)
The House and Senate passed different versions of H.3144, a bill providing campaign finance revisions.  The version of the bill passed by the Senate contained not only the body’s version of campaign finance provisions but also comprehensive revisions for the Public Service Commission (see PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION REVISIONS below).  A conference committee was appointed to address the differences between the House and Senate on the bill.  On the final day of the session, the House voted to accept legislation that contained the Senate’s version of campaign finance without any of the provisions pertaining to the Public Service Commission.  The session ended without compromise legislation being adopted by both legislative bodies.  Campaign finance legislation will most likely be introduced in the next General Assembly.  

H.3144 provided for various campaign finance revisions, most notably: 

Disclosure by Political Parties:  Both House and Senate versions require political parties, legislative caucus committees, and party committees to disclose anything of value received after a $500 threshold is reached.  This includes all funds received for operating expenses, “party-building” expenses, and other funds commonly referred to as “Soft Money.”

Mandating Reporting of Independent Expenditures:  Both House and Senate versions add a “person who makes independent expenditures of $500 or more during an election cycle for the purpose of influencing the outcome of an elective office” to the group of persons and entities that must file disclosure reports. 
Scope of Reporting Independent Expenditures: The House version further defines the term “influence the outcome of an elective office” for purposes of clarifying who has to file disclosure reports.  This definition includes the “magic words” approach to determining who must file disclosure reports and conforms to the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeal’s interpretation of Buckley v. Valeo.  This definition would also include campaign slogans or individual words that can only reasonably be interpreted to urge the election or defeat of a clearly identifiable candidate such as “Smith 2000” or “Jones-A man for the People!”.  This definition would incorporate bumper stickers and slogans that clearly convey an unmistakable message to vote for or against the identified candidate and is therefore substantially related to the recognized interest served by reporting and disclosure requirements.  The Senate version is identical but also defines the term “Coordinated with” as discussion or negotiation between a candidate his agent and a person concerning a political communication’s contents, timing, location, mode, intended audience, or volume.

Reporting by Ballot Measure Committees:  Both House and Senate versions create and define “ballot measure committees” and subject them to reporting and disclosure requirements.  This definition includes a person or persons who receives contributions or makes independent expenditure totaling $2,500 or more during an election cycle for the purpose of influencing the outcome of a ballot measure.  This provision clarifies the status of ballot measure committees.  The status of such committees is unclear under current law as a result of the 1999 Legacy Alliance case regarding the video poker ballot measure.  The Senate version adds the requirement that candidates and committees must maintain an account of the occupation of each person making a contribution in addition to the other requirements.  The House version eliminates the current requirement that ballot measure committees place the name and address of the committee on printed matter.  The Senate version leaves this existing requirement intact.  
Penalty Enhancements:  Both the House and Senate versions eliminate the $500 cap on civil penalties for failure to file disclosure reports. Currently, a person who violates this provision must pay a mandatory $100 penalty if the report is not filed within 5 days of due date plus $10 per day after notice is sent to the delinquent filer but only up to a $500 cap.  Both the House and Senate versions create a new penalty for campaign practice violations and certain reporting violations.  The legislation adds a fine of up to 500% of the amount of contributions and anything of value that should have been reported to the current law which provides for a penalty of not less than $5,000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or both.  
State Ethics Commission Requests:  Both House and Senate versions provide for several technical changes to the Ethics Act, most of which have been requested by the State Ethics Commission.  The Senate version adds provisions relative to the State Ethics Commission and the House and Senate Ethics Committees relating to the moratorium on filing a complaint during the fifty-day period before an election.  The amendment allows a person to petition the court of common pleas during this period alleging the violations complained of and praying for appropriate relief by way of a mandamus or injunction.  Sanctions are provided for those who file frivolous lawsuits.  
Contribution Limits:  Current law provides contribution limits of $3,500 for statewide office and $1,000 for any other office.  The Senate version provides that within an election cycle, a statewide candidate or committee may not accept contributions over five thousand dollars and non-statewide candidates may not accept contributions of two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500).  Current law provides a candidate may not accept contributions from political parties in excess of $50,000 for statewide office and $5,000 for any other office. The Senate version provides that a candidate may not accept contributions from political parties in excess of $100,000 for statewide office or $50,000 for non-statewide office.  The House version does not revise either contribution limit.

Reporting Campaign Contributions:  Current law requires candidates or committees to maintain a list during the period before an election commencing at the beginning of the calendar quarter of the election of all contributions of more than $100.  The Senate version revises this requirement to provide the list must include all contributions and expenditures, including those less than $100.  The House version does revise the requirement.  

Multi-candidate Expenditures:  Current law provides party expenditures for multi-candidate promotions for four or more candidates where each candidate receives substantially equal treatment are not included in the contribution limits section of the Ethics Act.  These expenditures are limited to the operation of phone banks, preparation, mailing and distribution of campaign materials, and voter registration or ballot information.  The Senate version eliminates this exemption entirely, thus making multi-candidate expenditures subject to contribution limitations.  The House version does not revise the current provisions. 

Personal Use of Campaign Funds:  The Senate version provides that ballot measure committees, like candidates, committees, public officials, and political parties, may not use campaign funds to defray personal expenses which are unrelated to the campaign or office.  The House version does not revise current provisions.  

Use of Campaign Funds by Ballot Measure Committees:  The House version includes a new section to the Ethics Act which provides that a ballot measure committee may not use contributions for any purpose other than the purpose for which the committee was originally created, unless the person giving the contribution gives written authorization. Within sixty days after the relevant election or referendum, the remaining funds must be contributed to the State’s general fund, contributed to a 501(c)(3) organization, or returned to all contributors pro rata.  If a committee violates this provision, the State Ethics Committee may seize the funds and distribute the funds as provided.  The Senate version does not include these provisions.  

Lobbyists:  Current law provides members of the immediate family of the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, other statewide constitutional officers, members of the General Assembly, or director of state departments may not serve as lobbyists during the time the official holds office and for one year after such public service ends.   The Senate version eliminates this restriction against family members serving as lobbyists.  Instead, the Senate version requires lobbyists who are members of the immediate family of a public official to identify that public official upon registering.

STATUS:  The House and Senate passed different versions of H.3144 and a conference committee was appointed on the bill.  Compromise legislation was not adopted by both legislative bodies before session’s end.  For Senate amendments pertaining to the Public Service Commission, see PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION REVISIONS below.

CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT REPORTING REQUIREMENTS FOR MEMBERS OF THE CLERGY (H.5048)

The House and Senate passed different versions of H.5048, but no compromise was reached before the end of the session.  This legislation adds members of the clergy to the statutory list of professions and persons who must report suspected instances of child abuse and neglect.  The legislation provides that a clergy member must report information received relating to child abuse and neglect except when the information is received during a communication that is protected by the clergy and penitent privilege as recognized by state statute.

Senate amendments added provisions that: (1) change from eighteen to seventeen the minimum age in the offense of causing or influencing a minor to commit unlawful acts and other activities; (2) provide conditions under which an out‑of‑court statement made by a child victim to a third party is admissible in a general sessions court proceeding or a delinquency proceeding in a family court; and (3) enact the revisions to the investigation and record-keeping of child abuse and neglect allegations that the Senate has passed in S.1208, Stephanie’s Law (see the summary below).   

STATUS:  H.5048 passed the House on May 1, 2002.  On May 28, the Senate returned the bill to the House with amendments.  The legislation was referred to the House Judiciary Committee where it remained at session’s end.

CLONING OF HUMANS PROHIBITED (S.820)

The Senate and House passed different versions S.820, a bill to prohibit human cloning, but compromise legislation was not adopted before session’s end.  Both House and Senate versions of the legislation prohibited cloning that involves the growth or creation of a human being from a single cell or cells of a genetically identical human being through asexual reproduction.  Both versions established cloning a human, or conspiring to do so, as a felony offense.  Under both versions, professional and occupational licenses would be suspended for violators.  House and Senate versions differed with regard to penalties incurred for violations.

Whereas both House and Senate versions of the bill prohibited the production of complete, live-born human clones, the House version established a wider prohibition that included products of human cloning such as stem cells and all other constituent parts of an embryo created through human cloning.  The narrower prohibition of the Senate version would not have applied to research involving transplantation of a cell’s nuclear material conducted in accordance with Federal Regulations.  Differences over the scope of the prohibition were not resolved by session’s end.

STATUS:  S.820 passed the Senate and House in different versions this year and a conference committee was appointed to address the differences of the bodies.  No compromise legislation was adopted before the end of the session.   

DEATH PENALTY STATISTICS (H.4989)

The House approved and sent to the Senate H.4989, a bill pertaining to information on death penalty cases maintained by the Office of Court Administration.  This bill provides that when a solicitor gives required notice to a defense attorney of the intent to seek the death penalty, the solicitor also must provide a copy of his notice of intent to seek the death penalty to the court administrator of this State and to the Commission on Indigent Defense.  The solicitor’s notice to the court administrator also must include the date the notice is made, the alleged crime, the date the alleged crime occurred, the county in which the alleged crime occurred, demographic information about the victim, and the person or persons charged with the crime, including their age, race, sex, and ethnic background.  The court administrator must use data provided by the solicitors to maintain records and statistics regarding the basic information.  The Office of Court Administration must compile, collate, index, and maintain a file of the required information and make the file available to the general public during the normal business hours of the offices of Court Administration.  The legislation provides a procedure for challenging and correcting information in the file.  The lack of notice given to the court administrator will never serve as a defense for the defendant of a capital case.

STATUS:  H.4989 passed the House on April 26, 2002, and was sent to the Senate where it received a favorable report from the Judiciary Committee on May 22.  No further action was taken on the bill.

DIABETES MELLITUS SCHOOL CARE ACT (included in S.977)

S.977, a bill relating to attendant care services and in-home care, was amended by the House to include the Diabetes Mellitus School Care Act, which requires each public school district to provide or contract for specified training to at least two school employees who must be designated as a diabetes care provider by the principal at each public school that does not employ a full-time nurse.  Failure of a school employee to agree to be a diabetes care provider does not constitute insubordination.  The bill also requires each public school to develop a written protocol with procedures to be followed if a student diabetes emergency arises when neither a registered nurse nor a diabetes care provider is available.  The bill delineates functions which diabetes care providers are authorized to perform if the school has obtained the consent of a parent for the child to receive these services.  The bill provides to a trained diabetes care provider an exemption from provisions that restrict activities that may be delegated to a person who is not a licensed medical professional and provides that the State Attorney General shall provide legal defense in any lawsuit brought under these provisions against a school district, school, or school employee.  

The bill requires that upon written request of the parent or guardian and authorization by the student’s physician, a student with diabetes must be permitted to perform specified functions to monitor and treat his or her diabetes in any area of the school or school grounds and at any school-related activity and the bill provides that the student may possess all necessary supplies and equipment to perform such functions. The bill prohibits restriction of a student’s school choice due to the student having diabetes and prohibits a student being denied access or participation in school activities and programs unless, based upon the student’s physician’s statement, the student’s diabetic condition is such that the activity or program may endanger the welfare of the student or of other students.

The bill requires that each school district develop implementation policies for these provisions and requires the Department of Health and Environmental Control to provide the State’s private schools with a copy of these provisions and make the training available to private schools.  The bill provides immunity from civil and criminal liability a trained private school diabetes care provider, anyone training a private school diabetes care provider, a private school employing a trained diabetes care provider, or any other private school official acting within the scope of authority as prescribed in the bill.  The bill provides that the training for school employees required in the bill is not required to be implemented until the 2003-2004 school year.  Costs associated with training must be borne by the State Department of Education.

STATUS:  S.977 was approved by the Senate,  amended by the House to include the Diabetes Mellitus School Care Act, and returned to the Senate. The Senate did not act on the House amendments to the bill before the session ended, and the bill died.

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE PREVENTION ACT (H.3056)

The House approved H.3056, the Domestic Violence Prevention Act, and sent the bill to the Senate where it was reported out of the Judiciary Committee, favorable with amendment, on May 22.  No further action was taken on the bill during the session.  Legislators may revisit domestic violence issues in the coming General Assembly.

H.3056 provides for various penalty enhancements and revisions for domestic violence offenses.  

The legislation provides for a penalty for a second offense violation of Criminal Domestic Violence and Criminal Domestic Violence of a high and aggravated nature, if committed within the previous ten years.  The second offense violation would be a misdemeanor and subject the offender to a penalty, upon conviction, of imprisonment for not more than 30 days and a fine of not more than five hundred dollars.  The court may suspend all or part of the sentence if the offender completes a program designed to treat batterers.

The legislation revises the statutory list of aggravating circumstances which are used to determine whether to impose a sentence of either death or life imprisonment on the defendant by adding separate aggravating circumstances that can be used to impose a sentence for murder. These circumstances include a murder committed in violation of a protective order or a restraining order, and a murder committed against a household member when the defendant had a prior conviction for committing certain listed offenses against the household member victim.
The legislation provides that for a first offense of criminal domestic violence, that the offender may, after five years from the date of the conviction, apply to the court for an order expunging the records of the arrest and conviction.  The offender must have had no other conviction during the five-year period following the conviction under this section and may only take advantage of this provision once, the offender must not have previously participated in the pretrial intervention program for first offense criminal domestic violence, and the offender must have satisfactorily completed a batterers treatment program.  

The legislation provides for a penalty for a third offense violation of criminal domestic violence and criminal domestic violence of a high and aggravated nature, providing a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment for 90 days.  The court may suspend all or part of the sentence, with the exception of the 90-day minimum, if the offender completes a program designed to treat batterers.

The legislation provides for a penalty for a first offense violation of an order of protection.  The penalty is imprisonment for thirty days and a fine of not more than five hundred; however the court may suspend all or part of the sentence if the offender completes a counseling program.  A person found guilty of this provision and criminal domestic violence of a high and aggravated nature must be sentenced under the latter.  

An individual who violates the general criminal domestic violence offense is guilty of the offense of criminal domestic violence of a high and aggravated nature when one of the following occurs:  (1) the person intentionally commits an assault and battery which involves the use of deadly weapon or results in serious bodily injury to the victim; or (2) the person intentionally commits an assault, with or without an accompanying battery, which would reasonably cause a person to fear imminent serious bodily injury or death.  A person who violates this section is guilty of a felony.  The court may suspend part of the sentence if the offender completes a counseling program.

When a person reports a criminal domestic violence violation at a later time and law enforcement was not notified at the time the alleged violation occurred, law enforcement must complete an investigation of the allegations.  A charge may be brought only by presenting the results of the investigation conducted by law enforcement and any other evidence for review by a judge who may issue an arrest warrant upon a showing of probable cause.  

A person may not be considered for pre-trial intervention if he is charged with a criminal domestic violence offense if the offender has been previously convicted of a criminal domestic violence violation or a similar offense in another jurisdiction.

The legislation revises the definition of “household member” under criminal domestic violence and protection from domestic abuse provisions so as to eliminate from the definition persons related by consanguinity or affinity within the second degree. 

STATUS:  H.3056 passed the House on May 2, 2002, and was sent to the Senate where it was reported out of the Judiciary Committee, favorable with amendment, on May 22.  No further action was taken on the bill.

GAMBLING CRUISE PROHIBITION ACT (H.4387)

The House approved and sent to the Senate H.4387, the Gambling Cruise Prohibition Act.  The legislation prohibits gambling activities on so‑called “cruises to nowhere.”  The legislation provides that it is unlawful for a person to use any gambling device or engage in gambling aboard a vessel within the jurisdiction of this State.  The legislation provides that it is unlawful for a person to use any gambling device or engage in gambling aboard a vessel that is on a voyage if: (a) the voyage begins and ends in this State; and (b) during the voyage the vessel does not make an intervening stop.  The legislation provides that it is unlawful for a person to own, keep, operate, manage, or maintain any gambling device on a vessel within the jurisdiction of this State unless: (a) the vessel is engaged in a voyage that begins and ends in this State and makes an intervening stop; and (b) any gambling that occurs aboard the vessel occurs only outside the jurisdictional waters of this State.  The legislation also provides that is unlawful for a person to for a person to own, keep, operate, manage, or maintain a vessel that transports persons to another vessel for the purpose of engaging in a “cruise to nowhere” style gambling cruise.  Under the bill, an ‘intervening stop’ occurs when a vessel departs the jurisdictional waters of this State and sails into United States or international waters, and between the time the vessel departs the jurisdictional waters of this State and the time it returns to the jurisdictional waters of this State, the vessel docks at a port of call in another state or possession of the United States or foreign country and remains in that port for a period of time sufficient to allow passengers the opportunity to disembark the vessel for sightseeing, shopping, or other tourism‑related activities at that port.  A person who engages in gambling that is unlawful under this act must be assessed a civil penalty of not more than one hundred dollars for each violation, with an aggregate total not to exceed one thousand dollars for a twenty‑four hour period.  An individual who violates provisions pertaining to the operation or facilitation of a “cruise to nowhere” must be assessed a civil penalty of not more than one thousand dollars for each violation, 

with an aggregate total not to exceed ten thousand dollars for a twenty‑four period.  The legislation provides that county and municipal governing bodies may adopt ordinances to exempt their local areas from prohibitions imposed under this legislation.
STATUS:  The House passed H.4387 on April 19, 2002.  The legislation was referred to the Senate Judiciary Committee where it remained until adjournment this year.

GAMBLING OFFENSE REVISIONS (H.4476) 

The House approved and sent to the Senate H.4476, a bill revising the State’s gambling offenses so as to modernize the language and make the provisions more comprehensive.  The bill provides that it is unlawful for a person in this State or at any location within the jurisdiction of this State to gamble, wager, bet, stake, or risk money, property, or anything of value upon the outcome of a contest, game of chance, sports event, or any other current or future contingent event not under the person’s control or influence, upon an agreement or understanding that he or another person will receive something of value in the event of a certain outcome.  A person who violates this provision is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined not more than one hundred dollars or imprisoned for not more than thirty days.  The bill provides that it is unlawful for a person in this State or at any location within the jurisdiction of this State knowingly to own, keep, operate, manage, or maintain a device or location of any kind that is used for gambling.  The legislation provides an exemption for cruises where any gambling that occurs aboard the vessel occurs only outside the jurisdictional waters of this State and the vessel makes an intervening stop.   A person who violates this provision is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined not more than two thousand dollars or imprisoned for not more than one year.  The legislation does not apply to State Lottery activities.

STATUS:  H.4476 passed the House on February 28, 2002.  The legislation was referred to the Senate Judiciary Committee where it remained until adjournment this year.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION REVISIONS

On May 29 of this year, the Senate returned H.3144, the campaign finance bill, to the House amended to include comprehensive revisions to the Public Service Commission, the body elected by the General Assembly and charged with regulating the State’s public utilities.  The legislation did not pass the General Assembly.  In the House, the issue of revising the Public Service Commission has been referred to the Labor, Commerce and Industry Committee for study.   

The legislation passed by the Senate establishes new qualifications for Public Service Commission candidates.  For any election for a term beginning after June 30, 2004, the members must have a four-year baccalaureate degree and must have a background of substantial duration and an expertise in at least one of the following: (1) energy issues; (2) telecommunications issues; (3) consumer protection and advocacy issues; (4) water and wastewater issues; (5) finance, economics, and statistics; (6) accounting; (7) engineering; and (8) law.  The legislation provides that a member of the General Assembly or member of his immediate family could not be elected to the PSC during the member’s term or for four years after the term ends.  An immediate family is considered to be an individual who is: (a) a child residing in the legislator’s household; (b) a spouse of the legislator; or (c) an individual claimed by the legislator or the legislator’s spouse as a dependent for income tax purposes.

The legislation prohibits ex parte communications by Public Service Commissioners and other PSC officials.  A commissioner, hearing officer, or commission employee may not communicate, directly or indirectly, regarding any issue in any proceeding with any party or with any person without notice and opportunity for all parties to participate in the communication.  Prior to the filing with the commission of any pleadings, applications, or other documents that could initiate a proceeding, a commissioner, hearing officer, or commission employee may not communicate, directly or indirectly, with any party or person regarding any fact, law, or other matter that may become an issue in a proceeding.  

The legislation establishes an Office of Public Staff, as a separate state agency, headed by an executive director who is appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate.  The executive director must be an attorney qualified to practice in all courts of this State with a minimum of 8 years’ practice experience.   The term of office for the executive director would be 6 years, and the initial term would begin July 1, 2003.  The public staff would have to represent the public interest of South Carolina before the commission.  The public staff would: (1) review, investigate, and make appropriate recommendations to the commission with respect to the reasonableness of rates charged or proposed; (2) review, investigate, and make appropriate recommendations to the commission with respect to a public utility’s service; (3) intervene on behalf of and represent the using and consuming public in all commission proceedings, certificate applications, and complaints against the commission; (4) provide the commission with information; and (5) coordinate efforts with the Consumer Advocate.

The legislation establishes the Public Service Commission and Office of Public Staff Review Committee composed of 19 members to include:  5 Senate members and 2 public members appointed by Senate; 5 House members and 2 public members appointed by House; and 5 members appointed by Governor.  The review committee would nominate one candidate for the Governor to consider in appointing the executive director of the Office of Public Staff.  The review committee would: (1) no later than January 15, 2003, recommend a method by which tariffs may be filed with the Office of Public Staff, and (2) no later than January 15, 2004, conduct a comprehensive study of other states’ commissions’ structures, responsibilities, qualifications, and compensation, and make recommendations.

STATUS:  On May 29, 2002, the Senate returned H.3144, a bill pertaining to campaign finance, to the House with an amendment providing for revisions to the Public Service Commission.  A conference committee was appointed to address House and Senate differences on H.3144, but no compromise legislation was approved by the General Assembly before the end of the session.  In the House, the issue of revising the Public Service Commission has been referred to the Labor, Commerce and Industry Committee for study.  

SHORTENING THE LEGISLATIVE SESSION (H.3138 and H.3139)

At the beginning of 2001, the House approved and sent to the Senate two measures that would shorten the legislative session.  H.3138 and H.3139 were referred to the Senate Judiciary Committee on January 1, 2001 where they remained as of adjournment this year.  The House approved H.3138, a joint resolution proposing an amendment to the South Carolina Constitution that would revise the time the General Assembly is required to convene at the beginning of each year.  Under the joint resolution’s proposal, the General Assembly would continue to convene in the State Capitol on the second Tuesday in January in even-numbered years (in the middle of a General Assembly’s two-year session), but would convene a month later, the second Tuesday in February, in odd-numbered years (at the beginning of a General Assembly’s two-year session).   The House also approved H.3139, a bill that would shorten the legislative session by changing the date for sine die adjournment of the General Assembly from the first Thursday in June to the second Thursday in May.

STATUS:  The House passed H.3138 and H.3139 on January 24, 2001.  The measures were referred to the Senate Judiciary Committee where they remained as of adjournment this year.

TRUTH IN SENTENCING (H.3141)

In 1996, Truth in Sentencing for those convicted of offenses with maximum penalties of 20 years or more went into effect.  This legislation eliminated parole for these offenders and required them to serve at least 85% of their sentences.  

Most of these offenses are classified as violent crimes.  However, some crimes classified as violent do not fall under Truth in Sentencing.  They include Second Degree Burglary; First Offense Trafficking in Marijuana, 10-100 lbs; First Offense Trafficking in Cocaine, 10-28 grams; First Offense Trafficking in Methaqualone, 15-150 grams; First Offense Trafficking in LSD, 100-499 dose units; First Offense Trafficking in Fluintrazepam (Date Rape Drug), 1-100 grams; and First Offense Trafficking in Ice, Crank, or Crack Cocaine.  Other serious offenses that do not fall under Truth in Sentencing include Lewd Act upon a Minor, which is a Class D, 15-year Felony and Embezzlement of Public Funds over $5,000, which is a Class E, 10-year Felony.

The House version of this bill extends Truth in Sentencing provisions to all crimes in South Carolina.   All offenders would be required to serve at least 85% of their sentences and would serve 100% if they do not earn work, education, or good time credits.  Parole would be abolished for all offenders who commit crimes after the effective date of the act.  The Senate version of this bill would apply the provisions of Truth in Sentencing to one more class of felonies to include Class D felonies and those offenses exempt from classification with maximum penalties of fifteen years or more.  The Senate version would also apply the provisions of Truth in Sentencing to the offenses of Assault and Battery of a High and Aggravated Nature, Criminal Domestic Violence of a High and Aggravated Nature, and Criminal Sexual Conduct in the third degree.

Both versions of this bill amend current law to correct an unusual provision relating to the operation of the Community Supervision Program.  Under current law, when an offender who is subject to Truth in Sentencing is sentenced and eventually released from prison, the offender is released under the Community Supervision Program.  If the offender violates one of the program’s conditions and is sent back to prison, he can be sent to prison on the violation for up to one year.  The current law then provides that the offender will be re-released back into the Community Supervision Program and if he violates again he can be returned back to prison for up to another year.  The offender can cycle through this process for up to twice his original sentence.  This bill was modified to provide that the court may not impose a period of incarceration for a violation of the Community Supervision Program that exceeds the length of time remaining on the original sentence.  

The Senate version of the bill added a provision regarding racial profiling which would expire July 1, 2006.  Additionally, the Senate version of the bill would equalize the penalties for crack cocaine and powder cocaine by lowering the penalties for crack cocaine to mirror the penalties of powder cocaine.

STATUS:  A conference committee was appointed (February 27, 2002) to address the differences of the House and Senate on H.3141, but no compromise legislation was adopted as of adjournment this year.
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